Guides & Tutorials: i-Space: 3D Scanner & Viewer

3D Scanning

3D scanning refers to the process of analysing real-world objects or environments to collect data on their shape and appearance. The data is then used to construct 3D models and textures of the objects or environments. Digitising real-world objects in 3D is becoming increasingly common. The 3D models can be processed for 3D printing, and imported into video games or VR applications. Below are some tools at i-Space for you to get started with 3D scanning. Come and try them out!

3D Scanning Facilities & Software

3D Scanning Facilities

Many consumer 3D scanners make use of short-range laser scanning technology and are suitable for scanning relatively small objects. A laser line or pattern is projected onto an object and the reflected laser light is captured by a sensor. The distance from the scanner to each scanned surface is calculated and from these data, a 3D model of the object is constructed.

The following 3D scanners are available at i-Space. Let's explore how to scan something in 3D in i-Space!

Equipment

Details

Location

Shining 3D
EinScan SP V2

Desktop 3D Scanner (White LED)

Point distance of up to 0.17mm
Up to 0.05 mm accuracy
＜1 second for a single scan
With electronic turntable
5 alignment modes, e.g Auto-alignment
Automatic calibration
Colour scanning
Compatible with MacOS
User manual

VR Development Zone

Digital Visualisation Room

(Connected to the laptop)

Shining 3D
EINSTAR

Prosumer Portable 3D Scanner
(Infrared VCSEL structured light)

Point distance of up to 0.1mm
4 alignment modes
Colour scanning
Portrait mode scanning
Compatible with MacOS

VR Development Zone

Digital Visualisation Room

Book a Consultation Session

Matter and Form
V2

Desktop 3D Scanner (HD CMOS sensor)

Up to 0.1 mm accuracy
With electronic turntable
Automatic calibration
Compatible with MacOS
Maximum object size and weight:
Height: 25 cm (9.8 in) WHD
Diameter: 18 cm (7.0 in)
Weight: 3.0kg (6.6 lbs)

VR Development Zone

Digital Visualisation Room

(Connected to the laptop)

Structure
Original Structure Sensor

Handheld 3D Scanner (Uniform infrared LEDs)

Portrait mode scanning
Compatible with iPad

Self-service Kiosk, i-Space,
4/F North Wing, Library

Photogrammetry Software

Photogrammetry software allows 3D coordinates of an object to be derived from photographs of the object taken from different positions and angles. Compared with consumer 3D scanners, very large objects including buildings and landscapes can be scanned with this technology. It is thus widely used in GIS applications, cultural heritage documentation and visual effects production.

Agisoft Metashape Standard
A photogrammetry software available at Digital Visualisation Room, capable of processing photographs or videos to generate 3D models and panorama images. It can handle large-scale projects with 50000+ photos.

3D Viewers

Equipment	Details	Location
Acer SpatialLabs View Pro 27	Naked Eye 3D Display (PC) Size: 27 inches Resolution: 4K, 160hz Support spatial audio AI-empowered eye tracking & 2D content to 3D technology Came with software: SDK for development	VR Development Zone Digital Visualisation Room (Connected to the Desktop PC)
Leia inc Lume Pad 2	Naked Eye 3D Tablet (Android) Size: 12.4 inches Resolution: 2.5K, 120hz AI face tracking Convert media files from 2D to 3D by AI Dolby Atmos quad-speaker Built-in stereoscopic cameras (pictures up to 5K resolution) Came with software 3D creator & conversion apps, Support LeiaSR™ platform SDK download / documentation	VR Development Zone Digital Visualisation Room Book a Consultation Session
3D Stereoscopic Glasses	For watching side-by-side (SBS) stereoscopy 3D photo/video Adjustable convergence to accommodate different image sizes Support viewing on normal computer monitors, screens, tablets, and even TVs Can be used with glasses	VR Development Zone Digital Visualisation Room Book a Consultation Session
3D Anaglyph Glasses	For watching red cyan anaglyph 3D photo/video Support viewing on normal computer monitors, screens, tablets, and even TVs Can be used with glasses	VR Development Zone Digital Visualisation Room Book a Consultation Session

SpatialLabs Display - Convert to 3D view

Introduction to Lume Pad 2

How to use EinScan SP V2 scanner?

How to use Einstar portrait mode scanning?

How to use Matter and Form V2 scanner?

How to use Original Structure Sensor 3D scanner?

3D Scanning - Tutorials & Tips

Tutorials & Tips:

Online manuals:

3D Model Collection

The British Museum
The British Museum was founded in 1753, the first national public museum in the world. From the beginning it granted free admission to all 'studious and curious persons'.
The Center for BioMedical Visualization at SGU
Provided engaging 3D models to accompany and enhance student learning materials and help to demonstrate many complex areas of anatomy.
IU School of Medicine - MSK
These 3D models were created as visual aides for med school students in the IU Med School MSK course.
NASA 3D Resources
A growing collection of 3D models, textures, and images from inside NASA. All of these resources are free to download and use.
Scan the World
Scan the World is the world’s largest ecosystem of free to download, 3D printable objects of cultural significance. Every object originates from 3D scan data, provided through a vast network of human beings from across the globe whose mission is to gain a greater understanding of our shared cultural heritage.
University of Dundee, School of Dentistry
Developing 3D educational resources for the University of Dundee, School of Dentistry.
University of Dundee School of Medicine
Educational medical content for the University of Dundee School of Medicine.
Cal Poly Humboldt 3D Digital Herbarium
The 3D Digital Herbarium is an innovative educational platform created by the Cal Poly Humboldt Library dedicated to bringing the intricate world of botany to life through state-of-the-art 3D modeling.

Stereoscopic Photos Collection

Library of Congress - Stereograph Cards
Approximately 52,000 stereographs are organized and available on site for researchers in the Stereograph Cards collection, with a growing proportion also available online.
National Portrait Gallery - Stereoscopic Photographs
The National Portrait Gallery’s Collection includes an important stereoscopic daguerreotype of inventor Wheatstone taken by Antoine Claudet (1797-1867) who did much to develop stereoscopic technology, Victorian celebrities and distinguished figures in studio or outdoor surroundings, scenes of royal events and from the farthest reaches of the British Empire, in addition to documentary images from the First World War.
The New York Public Library - Stereoscopic Collections
The University of Washington Libraries - Stereocard Collection
The original collections reside in the UW Libraries Special Collections Division as Stereocard Collection no. 31, Stereocard Collection no. 58, and Stereocard Collection no. 372.
George Washington Wilson: Queen Victoria’s Photographer in Scotland: University of Aberdeen Library
With animation, stereographs become 3D

i-Space: 3D Scanner & Viewer

3D Scanning

3D Scanning Facilities & Software

3D Viewers

SpatialLabs Display - Convert to 3D view

Introduction to Lume Pad 2

How to use EinScan SP V2 scanner?

How to use Einstar portrait mode scanning?

How to use Matter and Form V2 scanner?

How to use Original Structure Sensor 3D scanner?

3D Scanning - Tutorials & Tips

3D Model Collection

Stereoscopic Photos Collection

How to draw 3D glasses effect tutorial