Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Hotel, Tourism, and Events Management

Your starting point for research and study in the area of hotel and tourism management.

Data & Statistics

Look for data and statistics in hotel and tourism areas?

Below are the commonly used databases that contain useful data for students and researchers working in SHTM's subject areas.

Statistical Databases and Online Resources

Statista provides market research, quantitative data, statistics, business, and marketing related information from travel, tourism, hospitality, and other industries. You can explore the available data from examples below, or simply watch the video tutorials created by Statista.


Basic Search

You can simply make use of the Google-like search box below to make a search for any topic:


Market Outlook

Presents up-to-date figures and key performance indicators like sales, revenue, and prices in different consumer and digital markets:

  1. Mouse-over Outlooks from the top bar.
  2. Select the different outlook here, e,g, Mobility Market Outlook.
  3. Select an industry.
  4. Refine the Market you wish to study.
  5. Select a Location to get the information.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Publication Finder

Find studies, reports and other documents from around the web:

  1. Select Publication Finder under Tools.
  2. Refine the industry here if you wish.
  3. Input keywords for searching
  4. Click and download the document in PDF format.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Global Survey

Your starting point for exploring the different country data sets, topic and target groups:

  1. Click on Global Survey from the top bar.
  2. Click on Browse the Global Consumer Survey.
  3. Select a country where you wish to study.
  4. Click on the parameters that you are interested in.
  5. You may form a cross table for the selected parameters here if you wish.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Passport provides information on detailed market size, country parameters, forecast data, consumer lifestyles, business sources, as well as marketing profile and analysis in travel, tourism, lodging, luxury foodservice, luxury hotels, fine wines, and other industries.

You can explore the available data from examples below, or simply watch the video tutorials created by Passport.


Search Full Tree

You can browse for all available industries, economic and consumer topics from "Search Full Tree":

  1. Click on Search from the top bar.
  2. Click on GO under Search Full Tree.
  3. Select an industry or an economic or consumer topic under CATEGORIES AND TOPICS.
  4. Select the countries you wish to study under GEOGRAPHIES.
  5. Click on VIEW FULL DATA SET under the STATISTICS tab for the statistical information.
  6. Click on the topics under the ANALYSIS tab for country reports or other articles.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Travel Industry Home Page

You can also try to browse for the available information from the travel industry homepage with the steps below:

  1. Click on Industries form the top bar.
  2. Then click on Travel to browse the travel industry homepage.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Dashboards - Visualise Data

Dashboard for the travel industry is available on the travel industry homepage. It helps you to understand high-level trends in a visual and interactive way. You can access the Dashboard via the travel industry homepage.

Hong Kong Tourism Board PartnerNet allows you to download research and statistics of visitor profile, tourism expenditure, hotel supply, cruise, and other information in the tourism industry of Hong Kong.

It is an open webpage that can be accessed by the general public. However, you are required to login with the password provided in order to access its Research PublicationsMarket Summary, Travel Operator List, and Tourism Statistics Database:

  1. Visit Hong Kong Tourism Board research & Statistics online, and click on the Online Access button. 
  2. Click on the URL provided. Note down the username and password for login later. Do not disclose the username and password to parties outside the University.
  3. You will be asked to login when you click on Research PublicationsMarket SummaryTravel Operator List, or Tourism Statistics Database under Research & Statistics.
  4. Login with the username and password provided in step 2.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Research Publications:


Market Summary:


Travel Operator List:


Tourism Statistics Database:

CEIC China Database extensively covers data and statistics form the government and industrial statistics agencies which provide you helpful data related to China's economics, tourism sector, and hotel sector.

You can explore the available data from examples below, or simply watch the Video Tutorials under the Help tab in the database.

Please note that the number of concurrent user of CEIC China Database is one only. This means that you may need to wait until the previous user quit the database if it is currently using by another user.


Below is an example to access information in CEIC:

  1. Click on China Premium Database.
  2. Select the topic you are interested in.
  3. Drag and drop the information to the Line, Table, Area or Map sections in CEIC.
  4. You can then view and download the information.

Click to see steps in screenshots

UNWTO e-Library is a fully cross-searchable interactive database offering a vast number of high-quality UNWTO publications including books, journals, and statistics. It also provides access to a growing number of documents which can be defined as 'gray literature.' The latest statistical information and aggregated data on inbound and outbound tourism are very conveniently presented within the 'Tourism Factbook.'


Tourism Statistics

You can access tourism statistics from UNWTO e-Library with the steps below:

  1. Click on TOURISM STATISTICS from the top bar, or click on the button of Tourism Statistics on the homepage.
  2. You can then browse the statistics by country, economic group, or by indicator.
  3. The data is downloadable in Excel format.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Barometer

You can access the UNWTO World Tourism Barometer with the steps below:

  1. Click on BAROMETER from the top bar.
  2. Select the English version.
  3. Select the volume and issue you would like to read.
  4. Download the barometer in PDF format.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Google Dataset Search is a user-friendly search engine for searching freely available data online. It was launched in September 2018 by Google, and has just been out of beta in January 2020.

You can access data from Google Dataset Search with the steps below:

  1. Input keywords and conduct a search.
  2. Apply proper filters to find the right data you are looking for.
  3. You can then click on the link provided on the result page.

Click to see steps in screenshots

The Census and Statistics Department (C&SD) provides statistics covering various social and economic aspects of Hong Kong.


Hong Kong Statistics - Browse by Statistical Subject

You can browse Hong Kong statistics by subjects with the steps below:

  1. Visit the C&SD homepage.
  2. Mouse-over Hong Kong Statistics on the sidebar.
  3. Click on Browse by Statistical Subject.
  4. You can then browse for the statistic, as well as relevant publications and tables.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Mendeley Data allows you to discover research data uploaded by other researchers and upload your research data to make it citable by other researchers. It also indexes the following open research data repositories:


You can search datasets in Mendeley Data with the steps below:

  1. Input keywords for searching.
  2. Use the sidebar to refine the searching results.
  3. Click on More Details to access the dataset.
  4. You can then download the data via the button provided.
  5. Remember to cite the data if you used it in your work.

Click to see steps in screenshots