Skip to main content
PolyU HK
PolyU Library

OneSearch Discovery Platform -- Quick Tips

Physical Resources Retrieval Request for PolyU Staff & Students

During closure of Library Study and Collection Spaces, staff and students who require urgent access to print books and physical AV resources of the Library can request for their retrieval. Steps to request for physical resources are listed below.
More information about the service can be found here.

Request to retrieve physical resources? Sign-in to request it.

Steps to submit a request:

  1. Visit Library homepage, click on the embedded search box, or directly visit OneSearch.
  2. Type in your keywords or title of the book/ AV item and hit the search button.
  3. Click into the record of the desired book/ AV item and sign in to the system if you haven't done so. 
  4. Click Request button to proceed.  (See Notes below if you don't see the Request button)
  5. Proceed to Request if there is no Volume number or Standard number to specify. You will be notified by email when the book/ AV item is ready for pick up. Please come to pick up the requested item(s) after receiving the email.

Notes: Books available at Reserve Collection and AV materials on 3-day loan can be directly accessible in the Reserve Collection area on Podium Floor for borrowing using the self-checkout stations. You do not need to request such items in advance.

Find Books

The quickest way to find books is through a direct search in OneSearch. You may search by KeywordsTitle of the BookCall Number, or an ISBN number. Follow the steps below:

  1. Visit Library homepage, click on the embedded search box, or directly visit OneSearch.
  2. Type in your keywords or title of the book and hit the search button.
  3. Limit results to "Books" under Resource Type on the right panel of the page. You may further refine results to "Physical items" (which means print books only), or "Full Text Online" (which means e-books only). 
  4. Click on the book title to see more information about the book.
  5. For print books, the location is described by its Call Number. You will need to find the book from the bookshelf and check it out at Loan and Return counter at P/F (see below for How to Read Call Numbers).
    For e-books, sign in with your NetID and NetPassword to get access to the full-text of the book.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Look for textbooks for your course?

Access reading materials prescribed by your instructors for specific courses on Learn@PolyU. Watch this 1-minute video to learn how, or refer to the quick guide for students.

Find Journal Articles

To search for articles with a specific title or some keywords from the Library, you can:

1. Select Articles tab.

2. Choose the field you would like to search for (e.g. Keywords & Title)

3. Type in the related information and conduct a search.

4. Filter the results by Type, Date or Subject...etc. (If appropriate)

5. Click on Full text available and then select one source to get the full text.

OneSearch provides a single access point to find articles in many, but not all of the library subscribed e-resources and research databases. The content of specialized databases, such as digital images from Images & Maps Databases, newspaper articles from Newspapers Databases, and legal information from Law Databases, is not included in OneSearch. To find these specialized information, you are suggested directly accessing the Library Databases.

Search in a database

Searching within a database helps you narrow your search as the coverage of the database can be very selective. Some databases focus on one specific area, which can help you filter out the contents that are not relevant to the subject; some may cover peer-reviewed journals only, to ensure the articles covered are of certain quality. Almost all databases will provide an Advanced Search option, which allows you to search in a more precise way, e.g. search within article title, journal title, or subject terms (that are tagged to each article). This helps you find the most relevant results quickly and effectively.

Note that login with NetID is required to access the following databases off campus.

Below are some of the multidisciplinary databases:


Search in a citation database (Find more related papers)

Web of Science and Scopus are two large multidisciplinary citation databases. They do not provide full-text articles, but they are very helpful for exploring related articles by looking at citing articles (who cited the article) and references (who have been cited by the article). If you do not have an idea which databases or journals should go for, start with these two.

To get the full text for those articles that are not available in PolyU Library, eligible patrons can submit an Interibrary Loan request.

1. An article shows No full-text on OneSearch.

2. Sign-in with your NetID and Password.

3. Click on Inter-library loan to make a request.

4. Click Logon to ILLiad button.

5. The details of your desired article has been filled out automatically.

6. Click Submit Request button to complete.