Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Library Support During COVID-19: Digital Library

Library's E-Resources

The Library has a rich collection of e-resources including e-books, e-journals, online audio-visual materials, databases, etc. You can access 99.5% of journals and 79% of books in our collections online anytime, anywhere.


e-Books

The easiest way to find a book is via Library's OneSearch. You can also access books directly from an e-book database, e.g.:

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

covers an extensive collection of e-books in all disciplines. You can read online or download up to 100 pages per day.

ProQuest Ebook Central

covers a large number of e-books in all disciplines. You can read online or download up to 134 pages per day.

VitalSource

covers a selected number of e-textbooks in Business, Finance & Accounting, Engineering & Computer Science, Hospitality & Culinary, Social Sciences & Psychology. You can read online or check out the books for offline reading.

To explore e-books in Chinese, you may try these databases: 華藝電子書 iRead eBook, HyRead eBook, Apabi e-book.


Journals

Library has subscribed to over 170k scholarly journals and 99.5% of them are in e-format. Visit Journal Search to find and access the journals available through the Library. You may also use BrowZine which allows easy browsing, reading and following journals on both desktop and mobile devices.


Audios & Videos

Library provides over 240k audio & video materials in different disciplines to support teaching and learning. A few featured platforms include:

JoVE Science Education

covers videos to help you improve lab techniques and experimental skills. You can explore videos in the following themes:

JoVE also offers videos to support research in different disciplines, e.g. biology, chemistry, environment, and more.

Alexander Street

provides streaming videos for a variety of subjects:

Kanopy

collects over 17,800 streaming movies and documentaries in all subjects. A good resource for both learning and entertainment.

EBSCOhost Audiobooks

collects over 360 audiobooks. You can download the app and listen to the audiobooks on your iOS or Android devices.

Check the full list of Audio & Video resources to explore more or get some tips from our Online Audio & Video Resources guide.


Databases

Other than books, journals, and AV materials, you can also find other types of resources, e.g. standards, statistics, through library subscribed databases. Explore related databases by type of resources or by subject discipline.

We also put together guides for different disciplines so that you can continue to explore and use these online resources available to you:

Contact your Faculty Librarian if you need more assistance.

OneSearch

OneSearch is a discovery tool to help you search for library resources, such as books, journal articles, and DVDs. Watch the short videos to learn what OneSearch is and how it can help you find books and articles.

Tips!

onesearch filters

If you need e-materials only, use "Full Text Online", "Books" or "Articles" filters to limit the search results.

Visit OneSearch Discovery Platform - Quick Tips guide for more.

Course Resource List

Resource List provides students with easy access to course reading materials such as textbooks right inside the Learn@PolyU course page.

Instructors can add library and online resources to the list within a few clicks. Students can access books, articles, videos all from one page.

Watch this 1-min video or refer to the quick guide to learn how it can help.

 


Remote Access to E-Resources

Bookmarklet Plug-in

To quickly get the full text of the library subscribed e-resources when you are off-campus, you can install the library's bookmarklet plug-in in your browser. Follow the steps to learn how to install.

Install Bookmarklet

 

Remote Desktop

PolyU staff can register office PC for remote access from off-campus. For details, please visit the FAQ page provided by ITS.

Note that Global Protect VPN service is not needed to access Library’s e-Resources when you are off-campus.

 

Google Scholar @ PolyU

Access Google Scholar via Library homepage so that you can directly access the full text of articles the Library subscribed to through PolyU eLinks

Visit Google Scholar@PolyU guide to learn the steps.

 


E-Resources Not Available?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Eligible PolyU staff and students can also request for articles and other materials from overseas libraries using Interlibary Loan Service

Request an article via ILL

Contact Us

By Phone 2766-6863
WhatsApp 6423-0820 (service hours)
Online Enquiry Online Form or Email (lbviews@polyu.edu.hk)
In person Enquiry Counter, P/F, Pao Yue-kong Library
Information Consultancy Service Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions