 |
2766-6863 |
 |
2766-6863 (service hours) |
 |
Online Form |
 |
Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions |
Each semester, the Library will arrange interactive workshops in either hybrid or online formats for students and staff to acquire knowledge on various topics. You can explore completed workshops by theme.
This section covers workshops conducted by librarians about Research Analysis support, such as tools to evaluate journals, tips to manage author profiles, and publishing seminars delivered by publishes, etc.
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LS011 |
Citation Databases - Web of Science and ScopusWeb of Science and Scopus are important core citation databases which enable users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from leading international research journals and conference proceedings.
In this workshop, participants will use both databases to locate seminal works by topic and author. H-index, which can be used to measure the research performance of an author, will also be introduced. Through the activities, you will be able to identify the differences brought by these two core citation databases and use them for your research. |
Download | View | 28 Oct 2024 |
| LS034 |
Using Journal Analyzing Tools to Evaluate JournalsThis workshop aims to introduce key tools and metrics to evaluate journals, including Impact Factor and Journal Citation Indicator in Journal Citation Reports (JCR) and CiteScore, SJR, SNIP in Scopus.
You will learn how to evaluate and rank journals using these tools. You may read library guide of Journal Impact before attending the workshop |
Download | View | 23 Nov 2023 |
| LS045 |
Using Essential Science Indicators to Analyse Research PerformanceInCites Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is research performance analytical tool based on Web of Science Core Collection data.
It compiles statistical information (publication, citation, and cites-per-paper counts) for scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. This workshop will show participants how to use this valuable tool to: ▪ reveal trends and emerging areas of research ▪ identify influential individuals, institutions, papers, journals and countries by research field |
Download | View | 28 Nov 2023 |
| LS062 |
Using SciVal to Identify Research Potentials
SciVal is a web-based strategic analysis tool using Scopus data. This workshop will cover the basics of SciVal, its underlying data, and the modules of SciVal. You will learn to use the tools to identify top-cited publications, compare performance of selected journals and analyse emerging areas of research. |
Download | View | 8 Dec 2022 |
| LS075 |
Introduction to SciVal for Administrative StaffSciVal is a web-based strategic analysis tool using Scopus data.
This workshop is tailor-made for administrative staff. It will cover basics of SciVal, its underlying data, and the modules of SciVal. Participants will learn to use the modules in SciVal to identify, analyze and compare different institutions, countries and groups of researchers in different subject areas. |
Download | -- | 21 May 2019 |
| LS076 |
Introduction to Citation Databases for Administrative staffIn this workshop specially designed for Administrative staff, participants will gain an understanding on how Scopus and Web of Science, the two core citation databases, are used to support researchers and academic research.
Participants will also be introduced to basic metrics to evaluate journals, articles and authors. Through the in-class activities, participants will be able to identify the research impact of the research outputs and individual researcher by generating the citation metrics on the two core citation databases. Participants can read the library guide before joining the workshop: Author Impact |
Download | -- | 24 May 2019 |
