 |
2766-6863 |
 |
2766-6863 (service hours) |
 |
Online Form |
 |
Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions |
Each semester, the Library will arrange interactive workshops in either hybrid or online formats for students and staff to acquire knowledge on various topics. You can explore completed workshops by theme.
These library workshops conducted by Librarians aim to equip you with the knowledge and skills specific to your disciplines that is crucial to progress academically and professionally in your chosen field.
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LS042 |
Mastering Techniques in Searching Business and Financial DatabasesThis webinar will demonstrate how to locate critical information to support business research: country forecast, industry and market outlook, company profile, brokerage report, news and journal article.
Databases covered in this workshop includes: ▪ Economist Intelligence Unit ▪ Passport ▪ Bloomberg Professional Services ▪ Factiva ▪ Business Source Complete |
Download | View | 2 Nov 2023 |
| LS053 |
Resources for China StudiesThe Library has subscribed to databases to support learning and research in China studies.
This webinar will introduce some subject-related databases and how you can make good use of them to locate relevant information to support your research. Key databases covered in this webinar include: ▪ China Academic Journal Network Publishing Database (中國學術期刊網絡版) ▪ Duxiu Academic Search (讀秀中文學術搜索) ▪ Chinese Classic Ancient Books (中國基本古籍庫) ▪ CEIC China Database ▪ InfoBank China (中國資訊行) Users will also understand the different types of information available on databases and how these will help in their research. |
Download | View | 29 Sep 2020 |
| LS060 |
Specialized Workshop for Health Science SubjectsIf you are studying, researching, or teaching Health Sciences subjects, you must not miss this specialised webinar.
We will enable you to search across various health sciences databases effectively, and will share some practical searching tips as well. Databases covered in this workshop include: ▪ PubMed ▪ CINAHL ▪ EMbase ▪ PsycINFO ▪ Cochrane Library |
Download | View | 5 Oct 2023 |
| LS061 |
Searching Specialized Databases in Biology and Chemistry This workshop focuses on a few databases especially useful for biology and chemistry research.
Users will understand the different types of scientific information available in these databases. Users will also have a chance to try these databases during this workshop. ▪ ProQuest Biological Science Collection ▪ SciFinder ▪ ACS Publications ▪ RSC Journal and eBooks collection |
Download | -- | 10 Oct 2018 |
| LS073 |
Databases for Hotel, Tourism, and Events ManagementThis workshop will demonstrate how to locate critical information to support research in Hotel and Tourism management such as consumer reports, industry outlook, statistics and journal articles.
Databases covered in this workshop include: ▪ Hong Kong Tourism Board PartnerNet ▪ Passport ▪ Statista ▪ UNWTO eLibrary ▪ CEIC China Database ▪ Dissertations and Theses ▪ Others It will be useful to read the Library guide for SHTM students before the session: Tourism & Hospitality Management: Find Data & Statistics |
Download | View | 4 Oct 2021 |
| LS077 |
Specialized Workshop for Fashion Marketing and Textiles ResearchStudies and research in fashion marketing, retailing and textiles research can cut across different disciplines and this webinar will cover the different databases to allow you to locate critical information to support your research and studies.
Databases covered in this webinar include: ▪ Berg Fashion Library ▪ Passport ▪ Statista ▪ Just Style ▪ ScienceDirect ▪ WGSN ▪ WWD (Women's Wear Daily) |
Download | View | 23 Sep 2020 |
| LS080 |
Specialised Workshop for Humanities and Social SciencesThis workshop will cover useful tips and equip students with essential information skills to locate scholarly and popular sources for humanities and social science.
Participants will learn how to find quick references from OneSearch, develope research ideas and gather subject-specific information efficiently by using relevant multidisciplinary databases and subject related databases, such as Scopus, Web of Science, CNKI, JSTOR, Factiva, Statista. |
Download | View | 8 Sep 2022 |
| LS082 |
Introduction to Legal Resources for Building and ConstructionSince building and construction works are complicated and involve many parties, legal issues and disputes are common. As a result, knowing where to look for legal materials can help you better prepare and understand your project circumstances.
In this webinar, you will learn how to use different legal databases including Westlaw Asia, Lexis Advance HK and HK e-Legislation to find cases, ordinances and other legislative resources related to building and construction. |
Download | View | 22 Mar 2024 |
| LS084 | Specialised Workshop for Humanities and China StudiesThis workshop will cover useful tips and equip students with essential information skills to locate scholarly and popular sources for Humanities and China studies. Participants will learn how to find quick references from OneSearch, develop research ideas, and efficiently gather subject-specific information by using relevant multidisciplinary databases and subject-related databases, such as EBSCOhost, JSTOR, CNKI, Factiva, Gale Primary Sources, and other China Studies sources. |
Download | View | 22 Oct 2024 |
