Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Your starting point for research and study in the area of civil & environmental engineering.

Tutorial - Get full text beyond PolyU Library

How to use Interlibrary Loan Services to request research materials not held in the Library?

ILL Video

PIRA (PolyU Institutional Research Archive)

ira_logo

PolyU Institutional Research Archive (PIRA) is an open access repository for The Hong Kong Polytechnic University’s research, teaching and learning digital materials.

Find Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is an online directory providing access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
 

Find Journal Articles


Google Scholar vs OneSearch vs Databases

Generally, there are three ways to find articles:

  • Google Scholar is a quick search tool when you have an article title in hand, but may not give you very relevant results if your keywords are very broad. 
  • OneSearch is a one-stop search of Library's subscribed resources, most of which are scholarly materials. However, sometimes you may still find too many results when your keywords are not specific enough.
  • Database contains specialized materials, e.g. specialized in one subject area such as engineering, or specialized in one type of resources such as journal articles, books, or standards documents. 

Learn how to search more effectively from this guide Build an Effective Search Statement.

Find Peer-reviewed Journal Articles from OneSearch


Follow the steps below to find peer-reviewed journal articles in OneSearch:

  1. Input keywords or a searching statement in OneSearch from the Library homepage.
  2. Refine results to Peer-reviewed Journals and Articles. You can also make use of other filters on the sidebar to further refine your results, e.g. within a publication year range.
  3. Click on the links provided to get access to full text. More tips to read full text here. Sign in with your NetID and NetPassword if you are accessing off-campus.

Google Scholar@PolyU


To search articles in Google Scholar, we suggest that you access Google Scholar via the Library homepage, especially when you are out of campus. By doing this, you will be able to directly access the full text of the articles (that we have subscriptions to) through PolyU eLinks.

Follow the steps below:

  1. Visit the Library homepage and switch to the Articles tag.
  2. Click on Google Scholar@PolyU. Sign in with your NetID and NetPassword if you are out of campus.

     
  3. Conduct a search in Google Scholar. The article within our collection will be provided with the "PolyU eLinks" option, which allows you to access full text from the Library.

For the article not available in our collection, you can try to request it using our Interlibrary Loan & document delivery service.  We will then help you find the material from other libraries and suppliers. Watch a video tutorial to learn how to place a request.

Alternatively, you may change the setting in your Google Scholar to link it up with Library subscribed databases. This is identical to clicking on Google Scholar@PolyU via Library homepage.

Article Databases


Recommended Journals (from Course Resource List)


Journal Title
in alphabetical order
Web of Science Indexing* Impact Factor - 2021
ACI Structural Journal SCIE 1.799
Atmospheric Environment SCIE 5.755
Atmospheric Research SCIE 5.965
Canadian Geotechnical Journal SCIE 4.167
Chemical Engineering Research & Design SCIE 4.119
Computer, Environment and Urban Systems SSCI 6.454
Computers and Geotechnics SCIE 5.218
Earthquake Engineering and Structural Dynamics SCIE 4.060
Engineering Structures SCIE 5.582
Environment International SCIE 13.352
Environmental Modelling & Software SCIE 5.471
Environmental Pollution SCIE 9.988
Environmental Research SCIE 8.431
Environmental Science & Technology SCIE 11.357
Fire and Materials SCIE 1.979
Fire Safety Journal SCIE 3.780
Geotechnique SCIE 5.554
Indoor and Built Environment SCIE 3.067
Indoor Air SCIE 6.554
International Journal of Pavement Engineering SCIE 4.178
International Journal of Production Economics SCIE 11.251
International Journal of Project Management SSCI 9.037
International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Sciences SCIE 6.849
International Journal of Sustainable Transportation SSCI 3.963
Journal of Acoustical Society of America SCIE 2.482
Journal of Air and Waste Management Association SCIE 2.636
Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering SCIE 5.802
Journal of Construction Engineering and Management SCIE 5.292
Journal of Constructional Steel Research SCIE 4.349
Journal of Environmental Engineering SCIE 2.479
Journal of Hydraulic Research SCIE 2.116
Journal of Infrastructure Systems SCIE 3.462
Journal of Irrigation and Drainage Engineering SCIE 1.976
Journal of Management in Engineering SCIE 6.415
Journal of Sound and Vibration SCIE 4.761
Journal of Structural Engineering SCIE 3.858
Journal of the American Water Works Association SCIE 0.538
Journal of the Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Engineering SCIE 4.600
Journal of Wind Engineering and Industrial Aerodynamics SCIE 4.437
Noise Control Engineering Journal SCIE 0.527
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers.
Water and Maritime Engineering
SCIE 0.069
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Water, Maritime and Energy SCIE 0.405
Road Materials and Pavement Design: an International Journal SCIE 3.805
Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering SCIE 6.518
Soil Dynamics and Earthquake Engineering SCIE 4.250
Soils and Foundations SCIE 3.098
The Engineering Economist SSCI 1.023
The Science of the Total Environment SCIE 10.753
The Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings SCIE 2.76
Transport SCIE 1.455
Transportation Research Part B: Methodological SCIE 7.632
Transportation Research Part C: Emerging Technologies SCIE 9.022
Transportation Research Part E: Logistics and Transportation Review SSCI 10.047
Transportation Research Record SCIE 2.019
Transportmetrica A: Transport Science SSCI; SCIE 3.277
Transportmetrica B: Transport Dynamics SSCI; SCIE 3.410
Travel Behaviour and Society SSCI 5.850
Water Research SCIE 13.400
Water Science and Technology SCIE 2.430
Wind and Structures SCIE 1.729

Source: These journals are selected from BRE course readings that are indexed in SCIE or SSCI in Journal Citation Reports
Last updated: Jun 2022. 
* SCIE = Science Citation Index Expanded; SSCI = Social Sciences Citation Index.