Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Conduct a Literature Review

Get Full-Text via OneSearch


OneSearch is the Library's discovery tool to help you find resources and access their full-text content. If you cannot get full-text from elsewhere, you can always check on OneSearch and see if it is available through Library's subscription. 

Access Articles


There are a few ways to access full-text after you found an article in OneSearch. 

Take this article on OneSearch as an example. Make sure to sign in OneSearch to view the full text.

Access PDF from OneSearch

 Download PDF directly

 View the article within the journal on BrowZine platform. This allows you to view other articles in the same volume/issue of the journal.

 View the article from publisher's site. This allows you to view other related articles recommended by the journal.

   Directly download article in PDF:
Download PDF directly

   View article within the journal on BrowZine platform:
Access PDF from BrowZine

   View article from publisher's site:
Access PDF from publisher site

Access E-Books


The way to access an e-book can be different depending on the platform the book is located. Some platforms allow you to download the whole book in PDF with one click, while some allow downloading a limited number of pages per day due to copyright restrictions.

Here are a few commonly seen examples from e-book databases:

⦿ Full book download allowed. Usually, books directly offered by publishers offer full book or chapter download options.


⦿ Limited no. of pages download per day. Two major e-book providers - ProQuest and EBSCOhost- offer this option. Note that some popular books may only allow online reading. There is no limitation if you read the book online

Other than downloading a limited no. of pages to PDF, you may also "Borrow" the whole book for a specified no. of days and read it offline after installing the Adobe Digital Editions app.

Access E-book from Ebscohost

(Link to this book on OneSearch)


⦿ PDF full download is not available. Usually, textbook providers offer this option. 

You can check out the books and read them online for a specified no. of hours.

Access e-books from VitalSource

(Link to this book on OneSearch)


Some books may allow downloading a number of pages to PDF with watermarks. 

Access e-books from VitalSource

 

Access E-Journals


Library has subscribed to over 170k scholarly journals and 99.5% of them are in e-format. Visit Journals A-Z to find and access the journals available through the Library. You may also use BrowZine which allows easy browsing, reading and following journals on both desktop and mobile devices.

Journals A-Z BrowZine
Access E-Journals through Journals A-Z

Access Library Databases


Other than accessing articles, books, etc. from OneSearch, you can also go to a database to find specific types of materials. Check the list of databases that offer specific types of resources: