Skip to main content
PolyU HK
PolyU Library

Sociology

PolyU Course Programmes Database

PolyU Course Programmes Database collects the contains academic programme documents received from Faculties, Schools and Departments of the University dating back to 1981.

Faculty Librarian

Need Help?

By Phone 2766-6863
WhatsApp 6423-0820 (service hours)
Online Enquiry Online Form (Login required) or Email (lbviews@polyu.edu.hk)
In person Enquiry Counter, P/F, Pao Yue-kong Library
Information Consultancy Service Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions

Copyright Disclaimer

Creative Commons License

Except where otherwise noted, the content of this guide is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 LicenseNotify us if there are copyright concerns.

How to use this Guide?

This Guide is designed to help users to locate and access Library resources / services related to the subject: Sociology.

Most of the contents are relevant to both UGs & PGs.

Basic research skills are briefly covered in some sections, but we highly recommend users to attend Topical Library workshops available face-to-face or online. You can also contact your Faculty Librarian for in-depth consultations on your research interests or topics.

Be sure to FOLLOW PolyU Library in Social Media (    undefined  ) to get the latest news, announcements, and more from the Library.


Remember, when you are stuck, assistance is only a phone call, an email, or a whatsapp away.

OneSearch

​OneSearch provides a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of local and remote resources, such as books, journal articles, and digital objects.

Some information is better searched in subject databases where more subject-focused metadata is offered in the platform for search. You will learn more about search with various databases in the "Find Articles and more" section. 

Click on the sections on the right side menu to get more tips on searching specific materials

Note the various help options list at the end of this page or contact me if you need further help!


Note the undefined button below the OneSearch box!

HKALL enable students and staff to look up a book resides in other university libraries in Hong Kong, when the book in our Library is on loan to someone else or it is not covered  in  the PolyU Library collections.

MyRecord and other features

Myrecord

It is your personal record in the Library, please sign in to check details.

  1. Check at the top right corner after signed-in the MyPrivilege button for your entitlement in the Library.
  2. You can keep track of your Loans & Requests through the Library except ILL which has a separated access point,
    Find out more about ILL in the section "Find articles and more" .
  3. You can renew your loan items online, if there is no "request" already placed on the item, by other users, or the item has not reached the maximum renewal period yet.

My Favorites

When signed in

  • Mark (by the pin iconundefinedappear on the result listing or on the record) useful results and add to your personal space in the website.
  • View your favorite items by clicking on the pin icon undefinedat the top right corner of the screen.
  • You can export a few items on your favorite list to Endnote or email it to yourself or someone in need.

[Note] See more tips of using OneSearch in this guide: OneSearch Discovery Platform -- Quick Tips

Related Library Workshops & Courses

Library also offers face-to-face workshops and online courses to equip students with the ability to use information ethically. 


EndNote online course

EndNote Online Course on Learn@PolyU

EndNote is a reference management tool to help you cite and manage references more efficiently. Learn how to use EndNote by enrolling in our online course tailored for PolyU students and study at your own pace!

Using EndNote - Online Course  (click to see more details)

Enroll Now


InfoLit for U MOOC

Plagiarism - from InfoLit for U MOOC online course

Plagiarism can be unintentional. Understanding what constitutes plagiarism and how it is detected will help you keep away from it. To learn the topic in a more interactive way, you can enroll this free online course developed by 8 UGC-funded universities in HK. This module page will show you how plagiarism is detected and tips to avoid it.

What Is Plagiarism, Why Plagiarise & Tips to Avoid Plagiarism 
(Select "University Account" and login with your PolyU NetID)


Related Face-to-Face Workshops

F2F workshops offer more hands-on experiences so you can learn and practice at the same time. Unfortunately, the workshops are currently suspended. You can get an idea of the relevant topics we cover from the previous workshops listed below. The latest schedule can be found on the Library Workshops page

To learn what constitutes plagiarism, how Turnitin works, how to cite sources correctly: 


To learn how to cite and manage using a reference management tool, e.g. EndNote, Mendeley:


Take a look at the workshop handouts from the previous semester to get a preview of what was covered in the respective workshops.

Library Publications

Library publications

e-Bulletin is released monthly, introducing new resources or featuring highlights from the collection, by Faculty Librarians.

Newsletter is published quarterly, shares and reviews the key Library events or incidents.