Guides & Tutorials: Sociology: Help with Assignment Writing

PolyU Exam Papers

PolyU Examination Paper Database contains examination papers submitted by various PolyU departments, from 1995 onwards.

UGs: Online Tools for Assignment Writing

Information on this page is selected from the following 2 library guides. Please visit the guides for more details:

Plan on publishing your works!

Researchers@Library: Publishing Your Work
Tips on turning your research findings into publications.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - Social Sciences
SSRN is instrumental both as a starting point for students and faculty in the research process, and as a place to communicate their findings at an early stage, prior to publication in academic journals.

Copyright Disclaimer

Except where otherwise noted, the content of this guide is licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 License.

Library Resources

Handbooks

How to Start Writing

How to Start Writing

English Collocation

Professional English in Use

This series combines resources and exercises to help learners improve their English writing in professional contexts. Titles cover Medicine, Engineering, Marketing, Finance, Law, and more.

Online Tools for Writing

Concordancers

"A concordancer is a piece of software, either installed on a computer or accessed through a website, which can be used to search, access and analyse language from a corpus. They...can give us very accurate information about the way language is authentically used." [Source]

Corpus Concordance English
This tool allows you to find evidence of appropriate English usage provided by a collection of corpora. Use this tool to answer questions such as, “Which prepositions are used with this word?” and, “Is this expression commonly used in writing?” Get corpus descriptions here.
Just the Word
Just the Word (JTW) is another tool that helps writers identify acceptable and commonly used collocations. Uses the British National Corpus. Learn more about JTW here.

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Oxford English Dictionary
The authoritative historical dictionary of English that contains the history of individual words, traced through millions of quotations of literature in English. Also contains present-day meanings.
OneLook.com
An online search box to search across thousands of free online dictionaries, both general dictionaries and subject dictionaries.
Visual Thesaurus
The Visual Thesaurus is an interactive dictionary and thesaurus which creates word maps that chart meanings and branch to related words.
Collins English Thesaurus

Phrasebanks

Academic Phrasebank
This online resource developed by the University of Manchester provides an extensive collection of phrases used to perform common functions in academic writing.

Academic Skills for Independent Learners
- For and against (balanced) essays
- One-sided (argumentative) essays
** Free account sign up **
ICOSA Writing
- Argumentative essay writing
- Introduction to essay writing
- Thesis statement vs. topic sentence
Literacy in the Disciplines (LID)
- Argumentative essay genre guide
- Argumentative essay genre checklist
- Printable materials & interactive activities

We use images in our assignment, be it presentations, reports or even posters. While you can find and download images from plenty of platforms these days, it is important to make sure that you do not infringe copyright when using the downloaded images.

We are going to introduce these online image sources that you can find images where you have permission to reuse for your assignments, if you acknowledge the creator and the source.

	CC Search A tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone.
	Google Images An image search service from Google.
	Flickr An online photo management and sharing platform.
	Wikimedia Commons An online repository with more than 57 million freely usable images, sounds, and other media files.
	JSTOR Artstor A database provides more than one million images from a wide variety of subject areas.

IT Support For Research

IT Support for Research

You may book a consultation session here if you need technical advice on your assignment.