Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

[Library Workshops] Handouts and Recordings

This guide consolidates PPT slides, recordings and related information of completed workshops and webinars.

Need Help? Contact Us!

By Phone 2766-6863
WhatsApp 6423-0820 (service hours)
Online Enquiry Online Form or Email (lbviews@polyu.edu.hk)
In person Enquiry Counter, P/F, Pao Yue-kong Library
Information Consultancy Service Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions
Handouts, Recordings in Last Semester (Sem1, AY2021/22)

Each semester, the Library will arrange interactive training via webinars and/or face-to-face workshops for students and staff to acquire knowledge on various topics.


Workshops about Essential Skills for Academic and Research Success

 

► Subject-specific Workshops

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LS042
Mastering Techniques in Searching Business & Financial DatabasesThis webinar will demonstrate how to locate critical information to support business research: country forecast, industry and market outlook, company profile, brokerage report, news and journal articles.

Databases covered in the webinar include: Economist Intelligence Unit, Passport, Bloomberg Professional Services, Factiva and Business Sources Complete.
Download View 6 Oct 2021
LS060
Specialized Workshop for Health Science SubjectsIf you are studying, researching, or teaching Health Sciences subjects, you must not miss this specialized webinar. We will enable you to search across various databases effectively on a subject interest, with a few critical searching tips for the different databases covered. It also introduces rich audio-visual resources that captured the tacit knowledge from various health professionals.

Databases covered in the webinar include: PubMed, CINAHL, Embase, PsyINFO, Cochrane Library.
Download View 25 Oct 2021
LS073
Databases for Hotel, Tourism, and Events ManagementThis webinar will demonstrate how to locate critical information to support research in Hotel and Tourism management such as consumer reports, industry outlook, statistics and journal articles.

Databases covered in the webinar include: Hong Kong Tourism Board PartnerNet, Passport, Statista, UNWTO eLibrary, CEIC China Database, Dissertations and Theses and others.
Download View 4 Oct 2021

 

► Databases Trainings

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LST-01
Westlaw Asia Workshop - Legal Resources for your Project and Research Work Westlaw Asia is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information, e.g., case law, legislation, journals, current awareness, news and books/commentary etc.

Topics include:
▪   Content types and Jurisdictions covered
▪  How to get around in the platform
▪  Cases search, legislation search
▪  Commentary and journals search
▪  Current Awareness and news search
Download View 2 Nov 2021
LST-07
Bloomberg Webinar: Getting Started on BloombergThis webinar is designed to introduce Bloomberg databases in the PolyU collection to new users.

It will cover:
▪  How to get started using the Bloomberg keyboard
▪  Understanding the flow of system logic to make it work for you
▪  Global market information
▪  Introduction on fixed income securities in Bloomberg
▪  Finding details on individual securities
▪  How to gain access to information 24/7 and support via Help
-- -- 4 Nov 2021
LST-08
Bloomberg Webinar: Bloomberg Equity Analysis ToolsThis webinar will help participants learn how to use Bloomberg tools to gain insight into global equity markets.

It will cover:
▪  Global Market Overview – Security Information, Equities & Index Prices
▪  Equity Analysis Basics – News, Charting, Financials, Major Shareholders
▪  Equity Comparison – Estimates, Analyst Recommendation, Relative Valuation
▪  Current Awareness – News functions for real time updates
-- -- 12 Nov 2021
LST-13
Cochrane Library - Literature Searching and Tips to Support Systematic ReviewsThe Cochrane Library is an electronic collection designed to supply high quality, independent evidence in health care.
In this webinar, you will be guided through the Cochrane Library platform to get familiar with its interface and essential features. Some latest enhancements and updates, including the new PICO search, will be introduced.
Topics will be covered:
▪  Content available in Cochrane Library and its compositions
▪  How to get around in the platform
▪  What’s new in Cochrane
▪  Using PICO Search to support EBM research
▪  How to set up alerts and find help
Download View 3 Nov 2021
LST-14
Mastering STATdx – a Powerful Diagnostic Imaging DatabaseSTATdx provides a rich collection of medical imaging and diagnoses for reference, and is also a good resource to improve users’ anatomy knowledge.

Topics include:
▪  An overview of STATdx
▪  Navigate STATdx and conduct effective searches
▪  Demonstrate the strength of features and tools on the platform
▪  Q & A discussion with participants
Download View 25 Nov 2021

 

► EndNote Workshop

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LS056
Using EndNoteThis workshop will cover basic features of EndNote 20.
In this highly interactive workshop, the instructor will serve as a facilitator to walk you through several EndNote tasks and showing you how the step-by-step instructions of Library EndNote Guide can help. You will also learn some best practices in addition to those covered in our EndNote Online Course.
You are strongly recommended to complete Modules 1 to 5 of the EndNote Online Course before joining this workshop.
Download -- 24 Nov 2021

Workshops about Tools to Support Authors and Scholarly Publishing

 

► Workshops Conducted by Librarians 

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LS011
Citation Databases - Web of Science and ScopusWeb of Science and Scopus are important citation databases which enable users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from leading international research journals and conference proceedings. In this workshop, participants will use both databases to locate seminal works by topic and author. Through the activities, you will be able to appreciate the differences brought by these two core citation databases and use them for your research.
Download View 10 Nov 2021
LS034
Using Journal Analyzing Tools to Evaluate JournalsThis workshop aims to introduce key tools and metrics to evaluate journals, including Impact Factor in Journal Citation Reports (JCR) and CiteScore, SJR, SNIP in Scopus. Participants will learn how to evaluate and rank journals using these tools.
Download View 15 Nov 2021
LS045
Using Essential Science Indicators to Analyse Research PerformanceInCites Essential Science Indicators is a compilation of statistical information (publication, citation, and cites-per-paper counts) for scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. This workshop will show participants how to use this valuable tool to:
▪  analyze research performance of companies, institutions, countries, and journals
▪  rank top countries, journals, scientists, papers, and institutions by field of research
▪  determine research output and impact in specific fields of research
Download View 23 Nov 2021
LS062
Using SciVal to Identify Research PotentialsSciVal is a web-based strategic analysis tool using Scopus data. This workshop will cover basics of SciVal, its underlying data, and the modules of SciVal. Participants will learn to use the tools to identify and analyze existing and potential research collaboration opportunities and analyze emerging areas of research.
Download View 1 Dec 2021
LS074
Publishing 101 - Basics of Academic Journal PublishingThis workshop will introduce the basics of academic journal publishing process - from choosing the right journal for submission, getting through peer review, to sharing your works online after publication and tracing the impact of your publications. Topics on open access, copyright and tips to increase research visibility will also be addressed.
Download View 6 Dec 2021
N/A
ORCID ID & Scopus Author Profile IntegrationMaintaining an accurate ORCID profile that is integrated with your Scopus Author Profile can help increase the discoverability of your publications. This is also a requirement by the University.
This seminar will introduce the processes of integrating your ORCID iD with Scopus so that your publications from Scopus can be included to enrich your ORCID profile.

Topics to be covered:
▪  ORCID ID – Registration and enriching with publications from Scopus
▪  Scopus Author Profile – Common issues faced by researchers including how to maintain and manage profiles
▪  Q&A
Download View 13 Jan 2022
N/A Open Access Briefing Session for Academic Staff Download View 25 Feb 2022

 

► Publishing Seminars Conducted by Editors

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
N/A Getting Published in Nature Journals – From an Editor’s Views -- -- 20 Dec 2021