Skip to main content
PolyU HK
PolyU Library

Open Access

This guide provides information and resources in open access and scholarly publishing.

Deposit Your Work in PIRA

Publisher's and Funder's OA Policies

The SHERPA databases help you find out the funders' policies on OA publishing and archiving as well as publishers' policies on OA archiving.

Self-archiving in OA Repositories

Depositing a copy of your publication in OA repositories is another way to share your work. OA repositories include institutional repository and subject-specific repositories. Be aware that different repositories may adopt different copyright policies. Check OA Copyright for more information.

Institutional OA Repository

PolyU Institutional Research Archive (PIRA) is an online platform that actively collects and disseminates the research and scholarly outputs created by the PolyU community. 

Visit this guide to learn more about PIRA and how to deposit works in PIRA.

Subject-specific OA Repositories

Owned and operated by Cornell University, arXiv.org provides e-print archive and distribution service in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics.
PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
CogPrints is an electronic archive for self-archive papers in the areas of Psychology, Neuroscience, Linguistics, Computer Science, Philosophy, Biology, Medicine, Anthropology, etc.

To search for more OA repositories, visit OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Repositories, an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories).

Publishers usually make distinctions between three primary versions of a manuscript: the Pre-Print, the Post-Print and the Published version. Not all versions are allowed to be shared online depending on publishers' copyright and self-archiving policies

Here is a comparison between the three versions of a publication.

Pre-Print "pre-print" is any version prior to peer review and publication, usually the version submitted to a journal.
Post-Print

"post-print" or "accepted manuscript" is any version approved by peer review (with modifications based on reviewers' comments) but before the publisher’s copy editing and formatting.

PolyU Institutional Research Archive accepts the deposit of post-print (final accepted manuscript).

Published version

A "published" version is the final formatted, published version.

Most publishers DO NOT allow this version to be self-archived, while some allow - given that an embargo period is set (usually 6-24 months after publishing). 

(Reference: Open Access Overview by Peter Suber)  

Different publishers may adopt different copyright and self-archiving policies. Many publishers allow authors to archive the Post-Print in an institutional repository, but may subject to an embargo period. Most publishers DO NOT allow sharing the published version online (except for those published in OA journals). As an author, you will benefit from sharing the appropriate version of your work.

Here is an overview of self-archiving policies among a few major journal and book publishers. (Updated June 2018)


Journals: 

Publisher Pre-Print Post-Print Published version

Wiley

(details)

 

Embargo applied; can upload to institutional repository, or non-commercial servers/repositories only:

24 months after publication - for HSS journals
12 months after publication - for STM journals

X

(unless it's published in Gold Open Access)

Can share within private research groups

Elsevier

(details)

 

Immediate upon publication - can upload to personal website
After embargo period - can upload to institutional repository (check journal embargo)

X

(unless it's published in Gold Open Access)

Can share with known students or colleagues for their personal use

Taylor & Francis

(details)

 

Immediate upon publication - can upload to personal website
After embargo period - can upload to institutional or non-commercial repository (check journal embargo)

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Springer

(details)

(add link to original version once published)

Immediate upon acceptance - can upload to personal website, plus a link to the original publication
12 months after publication - can upload to institutional repository, PubMed Central, plus a link to the original publication

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

IEEE

(details

for both journal and conference articles

(add link to original version once published)

Immediate upon acceptance - can upload to personal website, institutional repository and social media sites that signed up to the Voluntary STM Sharing Principles (incl. SSRN, Mendeley)

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Can share with individual for personal use

Sage

(details)

Immediate upon publication - can upload to personal website, department homepage, or institutional repository
12 months after publication - can upload to elsewhere, e.g. a commercial repository like ResearchGate

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Emerald

(details)

Immediate upon publication - can upload to personal website, institutional or subject repository, social media sites that signed up to the Voluntary STM Sharing Principles (incl. SSRN, Mendeley), plus a DOI or link to original publication

X

Abstract only + link of the publication

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Cambridge University Press

(details)

Embargo applied; can upload to institutional repository, or non-commercial servers/repositories only

Immediate upon publication - for HSS journals
6 months after publication - for STM journals

X

Abstract only + link of the publication

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Oxford University Press

(details)

Immediate upon publication - can upload to personal website
12 months after publication - can upload to institutional or non-commercial repository only

(may not upload to commercial website unless an agreement has been signed with OUP)

X

Abstract only + link of the publication

(unless published in Gold Open Access, or an agreement has been signed with OUP)


Books:

Publisher Pre-Print Post-Print Published version

Routledge / Taylor & Francis‚Äč

(details)

Not specified

 

√  (one chapter)

Immediate - post to Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter

Embargo applied when uploaded to institutional repository, or Mendeley, ResearchGate, Academia.edu:

18 months after publication - for HSS books
12 months after publication - for STEM books

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Cambridge University Press

(details)

(** - not applied to textbooks, professional books for practitioners, or works of reference)

√  **

√  (one chapter) **

6 months after publication - can upload to personal website, institutional repository, non-commercial and commercial repository (e.g. ResearchGate, Academia.edu, SSRN)

√  (one chapter) **

6 months - can upload to personal website, institutional repository, non-commercial and commercial repository (e.g. ResearchGate, Academia.edu, SSRN)

Oxford University Press

(details)

(** - limit to certain publishing groups under OUP, for more see details)

Not specified

√  (one chapter/article) **

Prior to publication - can upload to personal website, department homepage, pre-print servers

√  (one chapter or up to 10%) **

Embargo applied when upload to personal website, institutional or non-commercial repositories:

12 months after publication - for Science and Medical titles
24 months after publication - for Academic, Trade and Reference titles

Permission from co-authors and full acknowledgement of original publication

John Benjamins

(details)

Can upload to institutional repository, Academia.edu, ResearchGate, Mendeley, etc.

(Embargo not specified)

Can upload to institutional repository, Academia.edu, ResearchGate, Mendeley, etc. with acknowledgement of article link or DOI.

(Embargo not specified)

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

Emerald

(details)

√  (one chapter)

Immediate upon publication - can upload to personal website, institutional or subject repository, social media sites that signed up to the Voluntary STM Sharing Principles (incl. SSRN, Mendeley), plus a DOI or link to original publication

X

Abstract only + link of the publication

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

De Gruyter

(details)

Not specified

Not specified

12 months - can upload to institutional repository, on a non-profit server, with acknowledgement of journal site or article DOI

Not allowed for commercial-based repositories

Palgrave MacMillan

(details)

√  (one chapter) **

36 months after publication

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)

X

(unless published in Gold Open Access)


Notes: