 |
2766-6863 |
 |
2766-6863 (service hours) |
 |
Online Form |
 |
Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions |
Digital scholarly research has specific needs on hardware and software. The Library provides high-performance workstations and software that is not found on the Library's multipurpose PC workstations. The high-performance workstations, iMac computers and graphic PCs installed with the specialised DS software and tools are available at i-Space (4/F North Wing) and 3/F North Wing.
You can book the high-performance PCs or iMac computers via the iBooking system.
General hardware configurations and locations of DS workstation.
|
i-Space, 4/F North Wing
|
3/F North Wing
|
||
|---|---|---|---|
|
➊ High-performance workstations ★ ➋ Bloomberg workstations ➌ All-in-One multipurpose PCs ➍ Flatbed and book scanners ◼
|
➊ iMac computers ➋ Graphic PCs ★
|
||
 |
 |
Application Software and Tools
☐ i-Space, 4/F North Wing
△ 3/F North Wing
|
Category |
Application Software |
Workstation |
|
|
Data Analytics & Mining
|
Anaconda is a distribution of the Python and R programming languages for scientific computing. |
iWS01-18 ☐
|
|
|
Orange is an open-source data visualization, machine learning and data mining toolkit. It features a visual programming front-end for qualitative data analysis and interactive data visualization. |
iWS01-18 ☐ |
||
|
|
Python is a high-level, general-purpose programming language, which supports multiple programming paradigms, including structured, object-oriented and functional programming. |
iWS01-18 ☐
|
|
|
R is a programming language for statistical computing and graphics. |
iWS01-18 ☐ |
||
|
RStudio is an integrated development environment for R. |
iWS01-18 ☐ |
||
| Data Cleaning |
OpenRefine is an open-source application for data cleanup and data wrangling for converting raw data into other useable form. It can handle spreadsheet file formats such as CSV, but it behaves more like a database. |
iWS01-18 ☐ | |
| Data Visualisation |
Gephi is an open-source network analysis and visualization software for all kinds of graphs and networks. |
iWS01-18 ☐ | |
|
Google Earth Pro is available for users to import and export GIS data and go back in time with historical imagery. |
iWS09-16 ☐ |
||
|
Tableau Public is a free platform to explore, create and publicly share data visualizations online. |
iWS01-18 ☐ | ||
|
MeshLab is an open-source application for processing and editing 3D triangular meshes. |
iWS01-18 ☐ |
||
| Geographic Information System (GIS) |
ArcGIS Pro is Esri's desktop GIS mapping software providing professional 2D, 3D & 4D mapping in an intuitive user interface. |
iWS09-12 ☐ | |
|
GRASS GIS is an open-source software suite used for geospatial data management and analysis, image processing, producing graphics and maps, spatial and temporal modeling, and visualizing. |
iWS01-18 ☐ | ||
|
Open Cascade CAD Assistant is an offline viewer and converter for 3D CAD and mesh data. Mobile app for Android and iOS is also available. |
iWS9-12, 13-16 ☐ | ||
|
QGIS Lyon is an open-source GIS software. QGIS allows users to create, edit, visualize, analyse and publish geospatial information. |
iWS01-18 ☐ | ||
| Statistical |
NVivo is a qualitative data analysis software which is used across a diverse range of fields, including social sciences such as anthropology, psychology, communication, sociology and marketing. |
iWS01-06 ☐ | |
|
SAS Statistical Analysis System (SAS) enables users to perform information retrieval, data management, report writing, statistical analysis, econometrics and data mining. |
iWS01-18 ☐ |
||
|
SPSS is a popular and menu-drive tool for statistical analysis in social science. |
iWS01-08 ☐ | ||
| 3D Modelling and VR |
Autodesk 3ds Max is a 3D computer graphics program for making 3D animations, models, games and images. |
iWS13-16 ☐ |
|
|
Agisoft Metashape ia a photogrammetry software to process photographs or videos to generate 3D models and panorama images. |
iWS017 ☐ | ||
|
AutoCAD LT is a software for design, draft, and document with precise 2D geometry. |
iWS13-16 ☐ | ||
|
Blender is an open-source 3D computer graphics software tool used for creating animated films, visual effects, art, 3D-printed models, motion graphics, etc. |
iWS01-18 ☐ |
||
|
OpenSCAD is free software for creating solid 3D CAD objects. |
|||
|
Sculptris is a powerful and easy-to-use 3D sculpting software, allowing the artist to create 3D artwork. |
|||
|
SketchUp Pro is a 3D modeling computer-aided design program for a broad range of drawing and design applications. |
iWS13-16 ☐ |
||
|
Unity is a cross-platform game engine to create real-time 3D games, apps, and more. |
iWS13 ☐ |
||
| Financial Data |
Bloomberg Terminals Bloomberg terminal accesses to real-time financial data, news and analytics.
|
iWS19-22 ☐ | |
|
CSMAR China stock trade and quote research database |
iWS18 ☐ | ||
| Optical Character Recognition (OCR) |
Adobe Acrobat DC Pro is PDF editing software. It has a build-in OCR feature to make your PDF document fully searchable and editable. |
iWS18* ☐ * connected to a flatbed scanner
|
|
|
CZUR software for the Book Scanner has a build-in OCR feature. It allows you to export OCR text to WORD, EXCEL or searchable PDF format. Its OCR supports multiple languages. |
iWS17* ☐ * connected to a book scanner |
||
| Multimedia Production |
3DVista Virtual Tour Pro is used to create interactive cross-platform 360 degree virtual tour. |
Multimedia Production Studio △ | |
|
Adobe Creative Cloud is a collection of software (Acrobat DC Pro, After Effects, Audition, Dreamweaver, Illustrator, InDesign, Lightroom, Photoshop, Premiere Pro, Substance 3D Collection, and more) that allows you to create graphics, animations, videos, and web pages. (Please sign-in with your Adobe ID when using Adobe Creative Cloud. If you do not have an Adobe ID or have forgotten password, please access https://account.adobe.com/) |
iWS18 ☐ |
||
|
Camstudio is a software to record all on-screen video & audio activities and creating industry-standard AVI video files. |
iWS01-18 ☐ | ||
|
CorelDraw (Technical Suite) is a collection of software for designing technical illustrations and documentation. |
iWS01-12 ☐ | ||
|
Final Cut Pro is a professional video editing software running on Mac platform. |
3NW01-09 (iMac) △ | ||
|
iMovie is a free video editing software running on Mac platform. |
3NW01-09 (iMac) △ |
☐ i-Space, 4/F North Wing
△ 3/F North Wing
Freeware for desktop publishing available in all PC workstations
|
Software title |
|
GNU Image Manipulation Program GIMP is an image editor provided with sophisticated tools for graphic design and photo manipulation. |
|
IrfanView is a very fast, compact and innovative image viewer/converter for PC Windows. |
|
Inkscape is a quality vector graphics software. |
|
Miro Video Converter can convert video to the correct sizes and formats for popular phones, and other media players. |
|
Scribus is a publishing software that can be used to create professional-looking documents like books, newsletters, and brochures. |
For common application software available in the Library, please visit the software list for the multi-purpose PCs or search the software installed in Library Public PCs.
