Guides & Tutorials: Chinese History and Culture: Find Chinese Philosophy Resources

How to find Chinese Philosophy Resources?

You might try the following ways.

In the beginning stage, you might browse reference from credible sources (e.g. bibliography, Encyclopedia, etc.) to get familiar with your topic.
You might try locating books & articles from library resources. Sometimes, you might try using "Subject" Search.
Or, you can find more information from open sources.

Library Tips for Finding Resources

Try "Subject" Search on OneSearch and Databases

Relevant books and articles can be found under subject terms.
i.e. You might perform a subject search in OneSearch, under the “Books & Media +”tab OR "Articles" tab OR "Advanced Search" mode, select “Subject” from the pull-down menu and type in a subject term.

Below are some subject terms related to "Chinese Philosophy":

Philosophy, Chinese
Analects
論語
Confucianism
儒家
Han Feizi
韓非子(韓非)
Kongzi (Confucius)
孔子
Laozi ("The Daodejing")
老子
Lunyu
論語
Mengzi (Mencius)
孟子
Mozi
墨子
Xunzi
荀子
Zhuangzi
莊子

Find Background Information

Readings in classical Chinese philosophy
It introduces the seven most widely read and important thinkers of the “classical period” (roughly the sixth to the end of the third century B.C.E.) of Chinese philosophy.
History of Chinese philosophy through its key terms
This book provides a conceptual overview of the evolution of Chinese philosophy from its earliest beginnings to the end of the imperial era, highlighting 38 of the most essential terms in the Chinese philosophical tradition.
Chinese Philosophy A–Z
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy
中國哲學簡史 = A short history of Chinese philosophy
Call number: B126 .F44127 2019

Databases & Journals

中國知網 CNKI
中國知網 (CNKI) (also known as CNKI 知識網絡服務平臺) provides access to:
1. 學術期刊庫 China Academic Journal Network Publishing Database (CNKI)
2. 学位论文库
3. China Core Newspapers Full-text Database (CCND) (中國重要報紙全文數據庫)
4. China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) (中國年鑒網絡出版總庫).
Bibliography of Asian Studies (via EbscoHost)
A comprehensive western-language resource for research on Asia, containing records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Chinese studies in history
Contemporary Chinese thought
Dao : a journal of comparative philosophy.
Journal of Chinese humanities.
Journal of Chinese philosophy.
Journal of Confucian Philosophy and Culture

Internet or Open Sources

Chinese Text Project (中國哲學書電子化計劃)
中國哲學書電子化計劃是一個線上開放電子圖書館，為中外學者提供中國歷代傳世文獻，力圖超越印刷媒體限制，通過電子科技探索新方式與古代文獻進行溝通。收藏的文本已超過三萬部著作，並有五十億字之多，故為歷代中文文獻資料庫最大者。
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. The site attempts to make use of the digital medium to explore new ways of interacting with these texts that are not possible in print. With over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters, the Chinese Text Project is also the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence.
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) - Chinese Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Taiwan Digital Archives 典藏台灣
典藏臺灣（DigitalArchives.tw）是由中央研究院數位文化中心所建立的成果展示平台，結合行政院國家科學委員會（現為科技部）「數位典藏國家型科技計畫」（2002~2007年）以及「數位典藏與數位學習國家型科技計畫」（2008~2012年）時期建置的百萬筆典藏素材、上百件網站資源與應用案例。