Guides & Tutorials: Resources for CAR Subjects: CAR C

This page will highlight resources for subjects covered in CAR C: History, Culture and World Views

Chinese History, Culture & Politics

Books
Journal Articles

SUGGESTED BOOKS FOR REFERENCE

中国大历史
Publication Date: 2012
中国文化之精神價值
Publication Date: 2005
中國文化要義
Publication Date: 2011
Understanding China Politics: the Key Words Approach
Publication Date: 2017

DATABASES

China: Trade, Politics and Culture
provides multiple perspectives – from politicians, diplomats, missionaries, business people and tourists, and documents many of the key events that happened in this period.
CAJ Full-text Database (中國期刊全文數據庫)
This is one of the databases subscribed through the CNKI platform.
中國期刊網包含全文數據庫及題錄數據庫兩個數據庫。全文數據庫收錄了5,000多種期刊；題錄數據庫則輯錄了中國公開出版的6,600種期刊的文章題錄。其中文史哲專輯包括回溯全文資料，大部分刊物回溯至創刊，最早的回溯至1915年。
讀秀中文學術搜索 Duxiu Academic Search
由海量全文數據及資料基本信息組成的超大型數據庫，為用戶提供深入到圖書章節和內容的全文檢索，部分文獻的原文試讀，以及高效查找、獲取各種類型學術文獻資料的一站式檢索
漢達文庫 CHANT (CHinese ANcient Texts)
此資料庫有甲骨文; 竹簡帛書; 金文; 先秦兩漢; 魏晉南北朝。
民國時期期刊全文數據庫第1-5辑 Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (via 全国报刊索引)
收錄民國時期（1911～1949）出版的25000餘種期刊，近1000萬篇文獻，內容集中反映這一時期的政治、軍事、外交、經濟、教育、思想文化、宗教等各方面的情況。
文淵閣四庫全書電子版 Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition) Online Subscription Services
文淵閣四庫全書電子版, 提供全文檢索, 原文文本及原文圖像。

SUGGESTED BOOKS FOR REFERENCE

Art, Politics, and Commerce in Chinese Cinema
Publication Date: 2010
Globalization and contemporary Chinese cinema : Zhang Yimou's genre films
Publication Date: 2017
Hong Kong Cinema: coloniser, motherland and self
Publication Date: 2002
New Hong Kong Cinema: transitions to becoming Chinese in 21st-century East Asia by Ruby Cheung
Publication Date: 2015
Screening communities : negotiating narratives of empire, nation, and the cold war in Hong Kong cinema
Publication Date: 2019

AUDIO VISUAL

Local TV programmes (streaming videos)
TV programmes from local broadcasters, RTHK, TVB, ViuTV and ATV available for streaming and loan dating back to 2002.
Kanopy
Feature films | Short films | Independent films | Documentaries | First films | TV Series
A video streaming platform with a collection of over 26,000 films from 800 producers such as New Day Films, California Newsreel, Media Education Foundation, The Great Courses, Stanford Executive Briefings, Video Project, Ronin, and Village Roadshow.

Search for other audio visual materials at the Library (e.g. DVDs) with the steps below:

Select Books & Media + from the top bar.
Keywords search is the default setting in OneSearch. You can change it to Title search, Author search, , etc.
Input the search terms and press on the SEARCH button.
Show results with e-books only by clicking on the filters of Audio Visual from the sidebar.
Check the location by clicking on LOCATION. You can then pick up the item from the shelves with the call number provided.
Limit the range of publication date here if you wish

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Written by scholars and experts, subject dictionaries and handbooks are great places to start in getting trustworthy background information and overview on the subject, including definitions and explanation of concepts. They often include useful references for further reading at the end of articles or chapters.

The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms
Publication Date: 2015
Brave New Words - the Oxford dictionary of science fiction
Publication Date: 2007
The ultimate encyclopedia of fantasy : the definitive illustrated guide
Publication Date: 1999

JOURNAL ARTICLES

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature.
MLA Directory of Periodicals (via EbscoHost)
provides information on journals and book series that cover literature, literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, language, linguistics, pedagogy, rhetoric and composition, and the history of printing and publishing.

Hong Kong & China

Hong Kong
China

SUGGESTED BOOKS FOR REFERENCE

Studies in Hong Kong history and society
Publication Date: 2017
100 events in Hong Kong history
Publication Date: 2012
Hong Kong's history : state and society under colonial rule
Publication Date: 1999
The Cinema of Hong Kong
Publication Date: 2000

AUDIO VISUAL & MAPS

Local TV programmes (streaming videos)
TV programmes from local broadcasters, RTHK, TVB, ViuTV and ATV available for streaming and loan dating back to 2002.
Hong Kong Digital Maps
The Hong Kong Digitial Maps (including some 3D spatial data) are provided by the Survey & Mapping Office of Lands Department.

JOURNAL ARTICLES & NEWS

香港中文期刊論文索引 HKInChiP
Maintained by the University Library, Chinese University of Hong Kong, indexes articles from over 300 Chinese periodicals published in Hong Kong.
Hong Kong Journals Online
Hong Kong Journals Online (HKJO) is a full-text image database providing access to selected academic and professional journals, both in English and Chinese, published in Hong Kong.
South China Morning Post (SCMP)
Provides online access to South China Morning Post articles of the latest 20 years ("rolling archive").

BOOKS

Apabi e-books
方正數字圖書藏有超過10萬本在國內出版的電子書。學科範圍包括社會科學、經濟、管理、物流、酒店、旅遊和醫藥衛生等。 (This platform includes Apabi ebooks purchased up until Mar 2012.)
中文集獻 Chinamaxx
Chinamaxx is a large collection of Chinese publications. It has a collection of 780,000 titles of Chinese literature. Most of the holdings are books published since 1949 and a few are from earlier years. About 35,000 new titles are added to the collection every year.
中華數字書苑 China Digital Library
Provides access to Chinese ebooks published in Mainland China in various subjects. The books can be viewed online and, subject to availability, checked out for 7 days to local PCs. Users need to download Apabi Reader to check out the books.
Note: If you are required to login with username and password when accessing the platform, just click "IP登录" to proceed.
中國基本古籍庫 Chinese Classic Ancient Books
The database contains approximately 10,000 texts from the pre-Qin period to the Republican period.
more...less...
《中國基本古籍庫》共收錄自先秦至民國（公元前11世紀至公元20世紀初）歷代典籍1萬種、17萬卷，選用版本12,500個、20萬卷。
Note:
No personal account is required to access the platform. If you encounter a page that requires personal login, directly click "Login" to access the content.

JOURNAL ARTICLES

中國知網 CNKI
CNKI 中國知網 (CNKI) (also known as CNKI知識網絡服務平臺) is a mega-channel covering the following subscribed resources in PolyU Library:
1/ China Academic Journal Network Publishing Database (CNKI) (中國學術期刊網絡版)
2/ 学位论文库 (via CNKI 中國知網)
3/ China Core Newspapers Full-text Database (CCND) (中國重要報紙全文數據庫)
4/ China Yearbooks Full-text Database (CYFD) (中國年鑒網絡出版總庫)
中國學術期刊網絡版 China Academic Journal Network Publishing Database (CNKI)
This is one of the databases subscribed through the CNKI platform.
中國期刊網包含全文數據庫及題錄數據庫兩個數據庫。全文數據庫收錄了5,000多種期刊；題錄數據庫則輯錄了中國公開出版的6,600種期刊的文章題錄。其中文史哲專輯包括回溯全文資料，大部分刊物回溯至創刊，最早的回溯至1915年。

NEWS & STATISTICS

中國重要報紙全文數據庫 China Core Newspaper Full-Text Database (CNKI)
Selects about 1,000 core newspaper articles published in mainland China between 2000-2005.
中國資訊行 Infobank China
An extensive database of China information with rich news contents.
more...less...
China Business News Database (中國經濟新聞庫) - includes daily news clippings and extracts fromChina's 600 leading newspapers and trading magazines
China Law and Regulation Database (中國法律法規庫) - consists of daily clippings from central and localnewspapers around China and official documents from relevant government bodies
China Listed Company Database (中國上市公司資料庫) - gives news stories, announcements and reports ofthe public listed companies (PLCs) in China
China Company Directory (中國企業產品庫) -contains 180,000 companies from all trades and professions in China, withconcise contact information and background information
China Who's Who Database (中國人物庫) -provides detailed and up-to-date information on leading government officials,industrialists, bankers, scientists and other famous personalities.
China Medical and Health Database (中國醫療健康庫) - collects daily news clippings and extracts from over100 leading Chinese health-related newspapers and magazines in China.
MOFTEC Bulletin (外經貿部新聞公告) -includes news stories from the Ministry of Foreign Trade and EconomicCooperation (MOFTEC)
China Yearbook Full-text database (中國年鑒全文數據庫)
contains 1463 titles which covers information on the level of a country, a specific industry or field, or a particular region from every aspect such as politics, economy, science and technology, culture and education.