 |
2766-6863 |
 |
2766-6863 (service hours) |
 |
Online Form |
 |
Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions |
| Handouts, Recordings in Last Semester (Sem2, AY2021/22) |
Each semester, the Library will arrange interactive training via webinars and/or face-to-face workshops for students and staff to acquire knowledge on various topics.
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LS039 |
Citing References and Avoiding Plagiarism What constitutes plagiarism? Would it still be plagiarism if you have cited your references correctly?
Join us to find out more about what constitutes plagiarism, learn some techniques to avoid plagiarism, and the concepts of reference types and citation styles. Instructor will demonstrate basic features of EndNote to help you better organize your references to make citing easier. Some commonly used plagiarism detection tools will also be introduced. |
Download | View | 4 Mar 2022 |
| LS066 |
Library Resources for CAR SubjectsWhat information sources should you use for your CAR assignment question? How to cite them?
This workshop will help you identify and locate disciplinary resources provided by the Library. Key skills to evaluate other information sources will also be covered. You will also learn the concepts of citing a source and how to easily cite a source with different citation styles. |
Download | View | 9 Mar 2022 |
| LS078 |
Library and Online Resources for Data Skills When dealing with data, many may choose Excel as a tool for data processing. But when working with large scale and complicated datasets, advanced coding skills and other specialized tools give you more flexibility and efficiency to handle data. This workshop helps data beginners identify different library and online resources on data sources, data cleaning, data analysis and data visualization to suit your own learning and research needs.
|
Download | View | 11 Mar 2022 |
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LSE-02 |
E-discovery - Finding Standards This webinar will briefly introduce why standards matter and how they can support your research. The class will give a quick guide on how to search standards in British Standards Online (BSOL), IHS Engineering Workbench and other available sources.
|
Download | View | 25 Mar 2022 |
| LST-02 |
Passport Training - Making Effective Use of Market Information Resources Passport is a global market information database provides timely insights and analyses on industry, market research and data, consumer lifestyles, socioeconomic and demographic trends, from over 106 countries. This workshop aims to demonstrate use of Passport and how it can assist you in your research and learning.
Workshop Outline: ▪ What resources are available in Passport ▪ How to get around the platform, e.g. keyword searches, browse Full Tree for categories and topics, etc. ▪ Ways to refine results and get full text ▪ Tips for searching latest marking data and reports |
Download | View | 15 Mar 2022 |
| LST-07 |
Bloomberg Webinar: Getting Started on BloombergThis webinar is designed to introduce Bloomberg databases in the PolyU collection to new users.
It will cover: ▪ How to get started using the Bloomberg keyboard ▪ Understanding the flow of system logic to make it work for you ▪ Global market information ▪ Introduction on fixed income securities in Bloomberg ▪ Finding details on individual securities ▪ How to gain access to information 24/7 and support via Help |
-- | View | 12 Oct 2020 |
| LST-08 |
Bloomberg Webinar: Bloomberg Equity Analysis ToolsThis webinar will help participants learn how to use Bloomberg tools to gain insight into global equity markets.
It will cover: ▪ Global Market Overview – Security Information, Equities & Index Prices ▪ Equity Analysis Basics – News, Charting, Financials, Major Shareholders ▪ Equity Comparison – Estimates, Analyst Recommendation, Relative Valuation ▪ Current Awareness – News functions for real time updates |
-- | View | 16 Oct 2020 |
| LST-09 |
SciFinder-n Training - Finding Quality Chemical Information ResourcesSciFinder-n is a research tool that allows you to access the world's largest collection of biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and other related information. The tool provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service and Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database.
Workshop Outline: ▪ Improve search efficiency with SciFinder-n's relevance ranking ▪ Reading patent documents made easy with PatentPak ▪ Complex structure search in just one click ▪ Access experimental protocols directly with MethodsNow Synthesis ▪ Generate new ideas for synthesis using Predictive Retrosynthesis ▪ Gain patent insights for substance search results with Chemscape Analysis |
-- | View | 29 Mar 2022 |
| LST-10 |
CINAHL Complete and Medline Training - Finding Quality Literature and Tips for Systematic ReviewCINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. Users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more, from 1937 to the present. Medline is widely recognised as a premier source of biomedical literature. The Medline collection via EBSCOhost in the library contains more than 25 million records from 5,200+ selected publications from 1946 to the present.
Workshop Outline: ▪ Basic functions of CINAHL Complete and Medline ▪ Construct effective search statements using keyword and MeSH ▪ 7 Steps to the perfect PICO Search ▪ Tips on conducting systematic reviews with CINAHL Complete and Medline |
Download | View | 31 Mar 2022 |
| LST-15 |
Statista Training - Finding Statistics in 30 SecondsStatista gives access to more than one million statistics on 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources covering roughly 170 industry sectors.
This online workshop will show you how to search and find useful statistics in Statista quickly, easily and with confidence: ▪ Introduction to Statista with Global Consumer Survey ▪ Effective ways to search for statistics and forecasts on topics of interest ▪ Tips & tricks on using the Statista platform including Global Consumer Survey |
-- | View | 17 Mar 2022 |
| LST-16 |
EIU Viewpoint - Introduction and TrainingEIU Viewpoint is an intelligence platform that provides insights into a country’s political, policy and economic outlook, and proprietary ratings on the business environment and risks.
Workshop Outline: ▪ Learn how to navigate EIU Viewpoint to find Global, Regional and Country-level analysis content ▪ Introduction to our Industry and Commodities coverage ▪ Data Tool: Learn how to chart data into Graphs and download into Excel using our state-of-the-art data tool ▪ Explore the new Data Saved Searches, Alerts and Search function |
-- | View | 28 Mar 2022 |
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| -- |
Use JoVE Videos to Support TeachingJoVE Core is high-impact animations that explain concepts taught in undergraduate Biology, Chemistry and Social Psychology courses.
JoVE Science Education is a video library dedicated to teaching key concepts and fundamental lab techniques of scientific experiments through easy-to-understand visual demonstrations. All PolyU staff and students now enjoy unlimited access to the JoVE video collection. Join the session to learn how to map JoVE videos to your course syllabus and embed them into Blackboard modules! Topics to be covered: ▪ An overview of different JoVE contents ▪ Embed JoVE videos into Blackboard ▪ Playlists: Syllabus mapping for your courses and textbooks ▪ Quiz Banks: Quizzes with our science education videos |
Download | View | 25 Feb 2022 |
| -- | Teaching with Business Cases: Tips that you need to know | Download | View | 4 Aug 2022 |
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LS055 |
Managing Author Profiles to Increase Your Research VisibilityThis workshop will introduce the commonly used author profiling tools for researchers to showcase their publications and other research outputs. The author profiling tools covered in this workshop will include Scopus Author ID, ORCID and ResearcherID (Publons from Web of Science). H-index, which can be used to measure the research performance of an author, will also be introduced.
|
Download | View | 28 Apr 2022 |
| LS074A |
Publishing 101: Tools and Tips for Journal SelectionThis workshop aims to help you learn the general criteria in journal selection for submission, and available tools to select quality journals and avoid potential predatory journals. Open access will also be discussed.
|
Download | View | 11 Apr 2022 |
| LS074B |
Publishing 101: Preparing for Manuscript SubmissionUnderstanding the publishing cycle of scholarly journals can help you to better prepare for manuscript submission. In the 2nd workshop of the Publishing 101 series, you will be introduced to the different processes from submitting a manuscript for review, to sharing your works online after publication. We will also provide some tips on how to improve your chances of getting manuscripts to be accepted.
|
Download | View | 14 Apr 2022 |
| LS079 |
Research Data Management 101 As more funders and publishers are requiring you to manage and share your research data, this workshop aims to help you prepare for these requirements. You will learn how to make use of DMPonline to prepare a data management plan, and evaluate different means to share your research data.
Workshop Outline: ▪ Understand expectations from funders and publishers in managing and sharing of research data ▪ Prepare a data management plan using DMPonline for your research project ▪ Evaluate different means to share your research data |
Download | View | 27 Apr 2022 |
| Code | Topic | Handout | Recording | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| N/A | What Makes an Effective Article: 10 Tips for Scholarly Publishing | Download | -- | 25 May 2022 |
| N/A | Academic Publishing for Early Career Researchers | Download | View | 26 Apr 2022 |