Guides & Tutorials: SD Capstone Research Subjects: 4. Use of Library Databases

Related Guides

More Searching Tips
Learn more about Boolean Operators (AND, OR), Truncations, and Phrase search, and some tips on how to broaden and narrow your search
Select & Evaluate Sources
Understand what are Scholarly vs. Popular sources and how to evaluate them

Need Help? Contact Us!

	2766-6863
	2766-6863 (service hours)
	Online Form
	Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions

Library Databases

Now you have developed some understanding of locating articles and books through OneSearch. It's time to explore how library databases can help you in finding different types of resources, e.g. images, fashion news, fashion shows, marketing reports, dissertations, statistics and data, etc.

Where to Find Journal Articles

OneSearch vs Databases?

There can be more than one way to get the information we need, for example, we can find books and articles in both OneSearch and Databases. However, search results can vary depending on the coverage of sources and their searching mechanism.

Understanding the difference among these platforms can help you choose where to go when you have a specific research need.

OneSearch - Library's search engine; covers over 90% of the library collections at item level across disciplines and material types.
Electronic Database - Allows you to search within a specific field (e.g. subject-specific databases), find a particular type of resources (e.g. images, newspapers, dissertations, etc.) and many of them enable users to refine search results using filters - All to help you find what you need quickly and effectively.