 |
2766-6863 |
 |
2766-6863 (service hours) |
 |
Online Form |
 |
Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions |
You can start by reading background information on your topic and developing your terminology around the topic.
Reference works include Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks. Reading articles published in reference works helps you:
Below are a few recommended sources where you can find reference works. Try searching your topic in any of these sources and see if you can find any interesting articles and further expand your terminology.
|
Credo Reference helps you find short articles on a topic from thousands of reference books in different disciplines. It's the scholarly version of Wikipedia. Here you can see an example. After searching the topic, we got a few articles (and sometimes a mind map too) related to the topic.
|
|
SAGE Knowledge is another database to find published reference works. If you wish to explore a topic in more details, you can read more from these handbooks and encyclopedia articles.
|
|
OneSearch is library's search engine where you can find almost everything the Library has including books, journals, DVDs. You can use OneSearch to search the reference works too. Run a search on your topic and limit by "Reference Entries". Clicking on the search result will bring you to the article published in reference works.
|
| Wikipedia is a free online encyclopedia. It's a great tool to help you quickly get an overview of a topic and understand the key issues or latest debates.
Sometimes students may come up with this question: Should I use Wikipedia for research?The short answer is, yes you can. However, you need to:
Below is a snapshot of an Wikipedia article's reference list, with a few creditable sources highlighted.
|
You will be given a research topic for your assignment. Try searching the topic on Google and check the result list - you may see entries from newspapers, Wikipedia or other sources.
At this stage, you can do 3 things:
If you wish to find more news articles on a topic, you can use these Library-subscribed news databases.
Let's say the topic of your assignment is "hotel industry". You are interested to learn if there are any hotel industry studies related to COVID.
You can google the terms and collect some keywords directly from search results. You can also explore some news articles and Wikipedia entries to further develop your terminology. Here are some examples:
| From search results: | Keywords collected: | |
|
|
|
|
| From a News article: | Expand the keyword list: | |
|
|
|
| From a Wikipedia entry: | Expand the keyword list: | |
|
|
|
You can find newspapers from the library homepage via the shortcut below for South China Morning Post, WiseNews, Factiva and more:
provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, etc.
You can make a search in WiseNews via the steps below:
From Aug 2018 to current...
You can access SCMP ePaper from Aug 2018 via the steps below:
Before Aug 2018...
For News before Aug 2018, you can search with the steps below:
*You may also search for news in SCMP since 31 March 1984 via Factiva.
WisersOne (formerly WiseNews)is a database which provides access to content from newspapers, magazines, journals and newswires published in China, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, and some other parts of the world.
WisersOne (formerly WiseNews) launched its new interface in late 2020. Check out the Quick Start Guide to learn how it works.
Note:
South China Morning Post is not available on WiseNews. To find articles from South China Morning Post, please try: Factiva, South China Morning Post, or ProQuest Historical Newspapers: South China Morning Post.
To look for relevant resources, many students will start with Google. It is a good place to get started, but be aware that not everything found on Google is credible sources, and sometimes the materials found may not be free to read.
Here we hope to show you some tips to help you:
Google provides short search commands for users to request specific search results. You can use the following commands to narrow your search results.
Tip 1 Search for an exact match
Tip 2 Search for a certain word (or words) in the URL or in the Title
Tip 3 Search for a specific type of site (e.g. organization, government website, educational website)
You can use a mind map to jot down and structure the keywords you have collected. Simply draw on a piece of paper, or use an online tool such as Whimsical, Miro, MindMeister or XMind.
