Follow the steps below to find an article in OneSearch:
Access Googles Scholar via this connection Google Scholar@PolyU.on the library website to locate Library’s Full Text Articles in Google Scholar search results.
By doing this you will be able to directly access the full text of the articles (we subscribed to) through PolyU eLinks.
Follow the steps below:
Google Scholar setting - link with PolyU Library
You may also change the setting in your Google Scholar to link it up with Library subscribed databases. This is identical to clicking on Google Scholar@PolyU via Library homepage.
Search in a database
Searching within a database helps you narrow your search as the coverage of the database can be very selective. Some databases focus on one specific area, which can help you filter out the contents that are not relevant to the subject; some may cover peer-reviewed journals only, to ensure the articles covered are of certain quality.
Almost all databases will provide an Advanced Search option, which allows you to search in a more precise way, e.g. search within article title, journal title, or subject terms (that are tagged to each article). This helps you find the most relevant results quickly and effectively.
Note that login with NetID is required to access the following databases off campus.
Search in a citation database
Web of Science and Scopus are two large multidisciplinary citation databases.
They do not provide full-text articles, but they are very helpful for exploring related articles by looking at citing articles (who cited the article) and references (who have been cited by the article). If you do not have an idea which databases or journals should go for, start with these two.
Full text not available? Try ILL.
Request a copy by filling up a form via our InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service. Alternatively, you may follow the steps below to place a request while you are searching.
Once you found a relevant article (i.e. a seed document), there are several ways to get more related articles from it. The most commonly used way is relying on the "related articles" or "recommended readings" suggested by the database. Below is an example in OneSearch:
Another skill is citation chaining. The assume is: If a paper citing or being cited by another paper, they normally share similar topics. Citation chaining can be further divided into Backward Chaining and Forward Chaining. (Or, click on the tabs above.)
Remarks: Learn more searching tips from this Library Guide:: Find Journal Articles.
Backward chaining means locating other papers cited by the seed document. You may simply locate those papers from the reference list of your seed document:
One disadvantage of backward citation is: you can only locate the materials published before the seed document. However, you can locate more up-to-date materials by Forward Chaining.
Explore journals in the PolyU collections and monitor the latest issues released by journal in your interests with BrowZine.
Read more about using BrowZine at https://libguides.lb.polyu.edu.hk/browzine.