Skip to main content
PolyU HK
PolyU Library

Library Guide for New Academic and Research Staff

Top things every new academic, research and teaching staff should know about the Library.

Call No. Sorting Rules

Call numbers are sorted on our bookshelves with following rules.


(​You can click to enlarge the image.)



By Phone 2766-6863
WhatsApp 6423-0820 (service hours)
Online Enquiry Online Form (Login required) or Email (lbviews@polyu.edu.hk)
In person Enquiry Counter, P/F, Pao Yue-kong Library
Information Consultancy Service Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions

PolyU academic and research staff enjoy great privileges in using our extensive collection. You can access most of our e-resources off campus as well as access resources in other UGC funding libraries. 

See your privileges here, and know how you can make good use of the resources below.

OneSearch

OneSearch provides a one-stop solution for the discovery and delivery of local and remote resources, such as books, journal articles, and other resources to support your teaching and research needs. Explore how to locate our resources from the tabs below:

Databases

To support your teaching and research needs, we subscribed different types of databases, including databases for articles, statistics, standards, images, newspapers and more. You can also access the databases related to your subject area with the steps below:

  1. Select Databases from the top.
  2. Browse databases by subject from the pull-down menu. You can then select our databases in different subject areas.

Alternatively, you can browse our databases by type of resource here.

Resources Beyond Our Collections

You can also access resources beyond our collection via HKALL, Interlibrary Loans and JULAC Card.

Google Scholar@PolyU

Google Scholar is an easy-to-use discovery tool for academic papers. You will see PolyU eLinks for the article we subscribed if you access Google Scholar in the campus, which allows you to access full-text of the articles from the library.

However, there will not be PolyU eLinks in Google Scholar while you are off-campus. In this case, you can still access the articles we subscribed via Google Scholar@PolyU from the library homepage, or via library links setting in Google Scholar:

myRecord

MyRecord allows you to view all your loans and requested items, including those borrowed via HKALL or your JULAC Library Card. You can also renew the borrowed item(s) here.