Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Resources for Educational Research

Elevate your research journey in education.

Find Books in OneSearch

Relevant books within this subject area can be found under subject terms such as:

For more specific topics, books can be found under headings such as:

Titles published by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Library Searching Tips

Let's say the topic of your research is on the latest EdTech tools for education. You are interested to learn if there are any studies particularly on AI and Metaverse. Here is an example using the searching tips on the searching platform to manage your search better:

  • (Immersive OR Metaverse OR “Artificial Intelligence” OR AI) AND Education

Do note that you do not need to use all of these techniques in every search you perform. However, understanding how they work can definitely help you better manage your search.

Boolean operators allow you to include multiple words and concepts in your searches. AND, OR, NOT are the most commonly used Boolean operators.

boolean operators

AND combines search terms so that each result contains all of the terms.

AND narrows your search.

 

OR combines search terms so that each result contains at least one of the terms. It is often used to connect synonyms or similar concepts.

OR broadens your search.

NOT excludes terms so that each result does not contain the term.

NOT narrows your search.
e.g. youth AND drug finds articles that contain both youth and drug. e.g. youth OR teenager finds articles that contain either youth or teenager or both. e.g. drug NOT alcohol finds articles that contain drug but exclude alcohol.

Search Order of Boolean Operators

  • NOT > AND > OR  (in most databases, including OneSearch) 
  • Use parentheses () if you need to override the order. 

Examples:

  • youth OR teenager AND drug finds articles that contain either youth (only), or teenager and drug (both words are present);
  • (youth OR teenager) AND drug finds articles that contain either youth and drug (both words are present) or teenager and drug (both words are present).

Truncations (*) and wildcards (?, #) are used to include different spellings therefore broadens your search.

E.g.

  • comput* searches computer, computers, computing
  • colo?r searches color, colour

Truncation and wildcard symbols may vary by database. Check the Help page in the database to learn the symbols and operators that database supports. (or, google database name + "operator" to locate the search help page directly).

Phrase search is used to search the specific expression or concepts. Usually quotation marks "" are used to search the exact phrase. Phrase search narrows your search.

E.e.

  • "knowledge sharing" searches only the phrase "knowledge sharing" and will NOT search knowledge creation and sharing (additional words in between) or knowledge shared

In some databases, quotation marks cannot be used with truncation or wildcards. e.g.: "knowledge shar*". Do check the Help page in the database to learn the symbols and operators that database supports.

Keyword searching Subject Heading searching

Keywords are natural language words or phrases that describe the search topic.

Keyword searching looks for the keywords in any field of the record (if not specified).

Subject headings are a group of "controlled vocabularies" that describe the content of each item. These controlled vocabularies are usually given by subject specialists or indexers.

Subject heading searching looks for the subject heading terms in the subject heading field (e.g. Subject, Subject Terms) of the record.

Commonly used subject headings include  MeSH and Emtree, both are used to search biomedical literature.

Tips

  • Subject heading searching helps you find articles by "meaning".
    e.g. search "knowledge management" by Subject returns results that may not contain the phrase "knowledge management" but discuss organizational learning (which is a related subject to knowledge management).
  • Some databases can recommend subject headings when you do a keyword searching. After that you may select appropriate subject headings to search again.
    e.g. EBSCOhost uses "Suggest Subject Terms"; Medline (via EbscoHost) uses "Map Terms to Subject Heading".

New Additions

Loading, please wait...

Recommended Books

Also visit our thematic collection:

E-Book Databases related to Educational Research

 

Educational Research related databases:
Multidisciplinary databases: