Skip to main content
Guides & Tutorial, Pao-yue Kong Library, The Polytechnic University of Hong Kong

The PolyU Institutional Research Archive (PolyU IRA): Home

This guide introduces key features of the PolyU Institutional Research Archive.

Manage Your Profile

Faculty members can edit their own profiles by:

1. Click 

2. Log-in with your NetID and NetPassword.

3. Editable items:
      - Photo
      - Author Identifiers
      - Research interests
      - Research summary
      - CV and personal links

4. Click "Submit"

How to Add Publications

To add materials to PolyU IRA, use any one of the following channels:

- Direct online submission to the PolyU IRA

- Email your articles to the PolyU IRA staff at library.ira@polyu.edu.hk

- Contact your Faculty Librarian

- Submit via Research Output System (ROS)

 

Types of Materials Accepted

Scholarly works of following categories in Research Output System (ROS) are included:

-  Scholarly books, monographs
   and chapters
-  Journal publications
-  Conference papers
-  Creative and literary works

Metadata will be made public, but only those suitable for open access will show full text.

Copyright

Looking for publisher copyright policies on self-archiving?

Use SHERPA RoMEO to find a summary of permissions that are normally given as part of each publisher's copyright transfer agreement.


RGC's New Policy on Greater Access Permission Request to Publishers
(Suggested Template)

Introduction

About

The PolyU Institutional Research Archive (PolyU IRA) is an online platform that collects and disseminates the research and scholarly outputs created by the PolyU community.

Mission

Showcasing the publications, research interests, activities and academic achievement of PolyU scholars, the PolyU IRA aims to increase the visibility of the University’s research and facilitate knowledge transfer.

Contents

 1) Researcher profiles:

Showcasing publications, research interests 

and professional activities. 

 2) Researcher Identifications: 

Displaying ORCiD, ResearcherID and Scopus 

Author ID on a single page.

 3) Research Outputs:

Not limited to full-text journal articles with bibliometrics, but also covers other types of research outputs such as projects, conference papers, awards and presentations.

Benefits of depositing research work in PolyU IRA

For Researchers:

Showcase:  A complete catalogue of your research and teaching activities. 
Visibility:  Discoverable by Google, Google Scholar and other search engines, the IRA can increase the visibility of your publication and profile via the internet.
Preservation:  Works in IRA are permanently archived for you.
Networking:  Let potential research collaborators locate you using IRA thus promoting research partnerships and facilitating knowledge transfer
Usage:  Obtain number of views, cites and downloads for your publications in IRA
Impact:  As an open access repository, by showcasing your research publications in IRA, you can increase your chances of being discovered and then cited

 

For Faculties and Departments:

A one-stop source to collect and showcase the department's researchers and research outputs

Department's research outputs and statistics can be obtained efficiently

 

For the University:
Exposes and disseminates the University's research to the rest of the world. 
Maximises the visibility and impact of PolyU's research
Showcases the University to industry, potential collaborators, prospective staff and students and other stakeholders

Encourages and facilitiates interdisciplinary research

 

Copyright & IRA

Do I have to check the copyright before depositing materials in IRA?

Library provides help in checking the copyright of each submitted full-text publication before making it available in IRA for open access. Many publishers allow authors to archive the "accepted manuscript" version of their articles in an institutional repository. If relevant permissions cannot be obtained, only the description of the item will be posted.


Will depositing in IRA prevent journals from accepting and publishing my research?

Appropriate version of your research manuscript will only be made available in the PolyU IRA after the journals have accepted and will publish your research work.


Can I deposit works produced with co-author(s) from multiple institutions?

Sure, as long as you are one of the co-authors, and the work is produced when you are working in PolyU.

Go to PolyU IRA

PolyU IRA

Introduction Video

Quick Start Guide

Contact Us

Phone: 
3400-3196 / 2766-6863

WhatsApp: 
6423-0820 

Email: 
library.ira@polyu.edu.hk

In-Person:
Research Help Desk, 3/F,
Pao Yue-kong Library