Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Translation

Basic resources you should know if you are researching and/or studying into translation.

Search PolyU Library Materials

OneSearch            Advanced Search

Print and Electronic Journals


These provide current information of research and development in a particular subject field. A few examples are :

Babel PN241.A1 B15 / Online Access
Discourse studies P302 .D566 / Online Access
Journal of Chinese linguistics (中國語言學報) PL1001 .J68 / Online Access
Journal of Sociolinguistics P40 .J685 / Online Access
Machine translation : MT P307 .M32
Meta P306.A1 M35 / Online Access
Perspectives : studies in translatology P306.A1 P47 
The translator : studies in intercultural communication P306 .T7448 / Online Access
Translation review PN241.A1 T7 / Online Access
Translation studies Online Access
Written communication P211 .W74 / Online Access

Theses Databases

Core Subject-Specific Databases

Using Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

^ ^ ^ ^  Be sure to visit all sub-sections via these tabs !!! ^ ^ ^ ^

Go to LLBA (Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts) and click on "Online Access".

Step 1. Conduct a Basic Search

  • Type in the search words e.g. phoneme AND word recognition at the box

Step 2. Understanding the Results

❶ Search results can be sorted in different ways such as Most recent first (publication date by default) and Relevance. Select from the drop-down menu on the left to change the sorting order.

❷ Click “Peer reviewed” to refine results to only peer-reviewed articles. Or selectScholarly Journals” under Source type to refine results to academic journal articles. Read the guide Identify Academic Sources to learn more about peer reviewed journals. 

► Step 3. Evaluate the Findings

  • Click the article title to read details
  • Read the abstract, a summary of the main ideas in the article, for it helps you decide whether the article is useful for your research. To read the full text article, click the "PolyU eLinks" button below to check whether the library has subscription. If yes, click the database to get the full text. Otherwise, click the Interlibrary-Loan to request the text.

► Step 4. Export to Endnote

❶ Click the "Cite" button on the right panel 

❷ Select an appropriate citation style from the drop-down list then review the citation carefully and make necessary edits

❸ Click "Save" and select RIS (works with EndNote, Citavi, etc.)” to put the citation to EndNote.

► Step 5. Broaden your search - If you do not get satisfactory results from your search

❶ Click the “Advanced Search” button at the top of the page

❷ Add synonyms to your search to find more results and make sure link them up with the Boolean operator OR (The guide Search Strategies and Techniques gives you some tips on building up keywords and synonyms)

► Step 6. Narrow down your search – If you want to make your results more refined and relevant

  • By selecting “Document title – TI” at the search field, results will be limited to those containing the search words at the article title

Featured Tutorial - Locate full text from Google Scholar

Locate Library’s Full Text Articles From Google Scholar

Video

Featured Tutorial - ILL&DDS

How to use Interlibrary Loan Services to request research materials not held in the Library?

ILL Video

Research & Writing Tips

PIRA (PolyU Institutional Research Archive)

ira_logo

PolyU Institutional Research Archive (PIRA) is an open access repository for The Hong Kong Polytechnic University’s research, teaching and learning digital materials.