Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Fashion, Textiles and Clothing

This guide helps you to explore resources relating to the study of Textiles and Fashion Design at PolyU.

Welcome!

This guide is designed for students and staff from School of Fashion and Textiles in PolyU to find the disciplinary research information through library for learning, research and teaching purposes.

Trend Books

Trend book is an essential tool for staff and students in the fashion and design industry to forecast the trends of colours, fabrics, shapes and styles. Topics of trend book subscribed by PolyU library include:

  • Women fashion
  • Men fashion
  • Color & Patterns
  • Knitwear
  • Inspiration
  • Lingerie & Sportswear 

They are available for borrowing at the Loan and Return Counter (P/F, Library). You can browse full title list via our Virtual Fabric Book Collection HERE and select the desired title(s). Please note that they can only be used inside the library.


Peclers Fashion Trend Books

Title Coverage
Mode femme - Women fashion 1999b - 
Couleurs = Colors 1999b - 
Mode homme = Men's fashion 2000b - 

Other Fashion Trend Books

Title Coverage Title Coverage
Fashion box: women's knitwear & T-shirt 2017a -  Tendances femme = Men's trends 2007a - 
Prints & patterns 2007b -  Promostyl: lingerie 2020a - 
Tendances femme = Women's trends 2007a -  Promostyl: sport 2020a - 

Peclers Fashion Trend Books

Title Coverage Title Coverage
Textiles 1999b - 2000a; 2001a - 2007a Enfant = Kids  2000b -2003b
Decors = Patterns 1999b - 2011a; 2016a - 2016b Youth culture = Culture junior  2001b - 2003a
Children's corner = Childrenswear trends and influences 1999b - 2002a Living! = Maison & environnement  2001a - 2006b
Maison = Home 1999a - 2000b Baby's corner 2002b - 2006a
Tops & Co 1999b - 2009b Pulse generation 2003b - 2016b
Flash mode femme = Women fashion update 2000a - 2015b Teens 2004a - 2004b
Mode produits [kit] = Fashion key items 1999b – 2010b Kids 2-12 2005a - 2007a
Synthese tissus = Fabric review 1999b - 2004a Textiles + 2006a
Lingerie 1999b - 2007b Sport' style 2007b - 2008a; 2009a - 2010b
Cote enfant = Baby & childrenswear 1999b – 2000a Easy-chic 5 2009 (Issue5)
Sports wear tendances = Causalwear trends 1999b – 2001a Inspirations 1999b - 2021b
Maille & T-shirt = Knitwear & T-shirt 1999b – 2021a Causal life women 2016a - 2021b

Other Fashion Trend Books

Title Coverage Title Coverage
紡織品開發設計與管理實務 Textile design 2007 Fashion box : men's fashion trends 2017a - 2018a
101 weaves in 101 fabrics 1961 French paragons (fabric photos only) 1970 - 1981 
All about cotton a fabric dictionary & swatchbook 1998 Japan fabric 2003 v.1-5 
All about wool a fabric dictionary & swatchbook 1996 Knit! Alert 2007a - 2008b
Casualwear : hiver 2010b Knit point 2007a - 2010b; 2011b; 2012b; 2013b; 2014b & 2015b
Citywear : hiver 2010b Lingerie 2002a; 2002b; 2003b - 2005a
Menswear : hiver  2010b Lingerie foundation 2001a - 2004a; 2005b - 2006b; 2008b; 2009a & 2010b
Fabric science swatch kit 1994, 2001 & 2005 Pantone fashion home + interiors : cotton planner : new colors 2015
Fabric swatch realia a descriptive collection of fabric swatches and their uses within the fashion & textile industries 2003 Pointrends : women’s jeans & casual wear 2007a
Fashion box : men's knitwear 2007a - 2016b Pointrends : women’s wear 2007a
Fashion box : women's knitwear 2007a - 2016b Swatch reference guide for fashion fabrics 2013

Featured Resources

 

 

WGSN is the leading online trend-analysis and research service providing creative and business intelligence for the apparel, style, design and retail industries. You can find 1) latest fashion news and trends; 2) industry & market analysis and 3) images library by brand, product, materials, etc. 

The Library has subscription to the following modules: 

  • Fashion - allow you to find upcoming trends in fashion industry, including creative direction, design, category buying
  • Insight - lead you to understand consumer behavior and lifestyle, e.g. consumer insights, retail strategy, marketing direction 
  • Interiors - guide to future interior design products and aesthetics, e.g. creative direction, experience design, packaging design, etc.
  • City by City - show you the world's greatest fashion destinations

 

Note:

To download images from WGSN, please log in your account on WGSN. If you are a first time user, please create an account with your PolyU email first.