Look for data and statistics of social interests
Social Data and statistics may come from a wide range of sources such as governments, NGOs, international and/or public bodies in your interests. Please explore the NGOs listed in the Internet Resources chapter, some NGOs might share statistical findings in their websites, or through the publications such as blogs, newsletters or technical reports.
From the United Nations
From the World Bank:
From Hong Kong Government
Make good use of the following subscribed resources in the PolyU Library collection:
Please see the instructions of using some Statistical databases and online resources in the section below.
The examples are tourism related, as they are adopted from the Hotel and Tourism Management Library Guide (where you will find more statistical instructions). However, you can explore other topical interests similarly in the databases.
CEIC China Database extensively covers data and statistics form the government and industrial statistics agencies which provide you helpful data related to China's economics, tourism sector, and hotel sector.
You can explore the available data from examples below, or simply watch the Video Tutorials under the Help tab in the database.
Please note that the number of concurrent user of CEIC China Database is one only. This means that you may need to wait until the previous user quit the database if it is currently using by another user.
Below is an example to access information in CEIC:
Statista contains market research, quantitative data, statistics, business and marketing related information from various industries including health, life, media, society and more.
The Census and Statistics Department (C&SD) provides statistics covering various social and economic aspects of Hong Kong.
Hong Kong Statistics - Browse by Statistical Subject
You can browse Hong Kong statistics by subjects with the steps below:
Google Dataset Search is a user-friendly search engine for searching freely available data online. It was launched in September 2018 by Google, and has just been out of beta in January 2020.
You can access data from Google Dataset Search with the steps below:
Mendeley Data allows you to discover research data uploaded by other researchers and upload your research data to make it citable by other researchers. It also indexes the following open research data repositories:
You can search datasets in Mendeley Data with the steps below: