Skip to main content
PolyU HK
PolyU Library

Research Visibility

This guide provides you the ways in raising your research visibility and information about the measurement of your research impact.

Web of Science Author Search and Author Record

The new Author Search function in Web of Science...

  • guides you to locate the author you are looking for in an efficient way.
  • provides a clean and comprehensive author record with a list of publications indexed in Web of Science Core Collection and citation metrics.
  • allows you to claim ownership of and maintain your own Web of Science Author Record via Publons.
  • lets you submit feedback to improve any author's publication record in Web of Science Core Collection.

 

What is Publons?

  • A platform powered by Web of Science that allows authors to track publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in one place. Integrated with ORCID and thousands of scholarly journals, you can also correct your author attribution using this platform.

 

Tips on using Web of Science Author Record

  • Web of Science Author Record only compiles an author's publications that are indexed in Web of Science Core Collection. You cannot add publications that are not indexed in Web of Science Core Collection in your Author Record, but you can include these publications in Web of Science ResearcherID via Publons, although only works indexed in Web of Science will be provided with citation data in Publons.
     
  • For your publications that are indexed in Web of Science Core Collection but not listed in your Author Record, you may request a correction on the publication records. Please refer to Correct Your Web of Science Author Record for details.

 

2 ways to find your Web of Science Author Record:

  • Search by author's name:
  1. Access Web of Science and go to the Author Search tab.
  2. Search by the author's last name and first name.
  3. Click on Find.
  4. Click on the name to view the Author Record,
    OR select all the profiles that belong to the author and then click on View Combined Record.

Click to see screenshots

  • Search by ORCID or Web of Science ResearcherID:
  1. Access Web of Science and go to the Author Search tab.
  2. Click on Web of Science ResearcherID or ORCID Search.
  3. Search with either ORCID or Web of Science ResearcherID.

Click to see screenshots


Claim ownership of your Web of Science Author Record:

Claiming your Web of Science Author Record facilitates funders and other researchers to discover your publications indexed in Web of Science Core Collection and thus enhance your research visibility. You can also import publications from the record to your Web of Science ResearcherID easily after claiming your author record.

Below are the steps to do this:

  1. Find your Web of Science Author Record with the steps in the above session.
  2. Click on Claim This Record.
  3. Click on Claim This Record On Publons.
  4. Sign in your Publons account or Register a new account.
  5. You can then import the selected publications into your Web of Science ResearcherID from the Private dashboard in Publons.

Click to see screenshots

You can remove the publications that do not belong to you through this process.  Please refer to Correct Your Web of Science Author Record for details.

You can remove the publications that do not belong to you with the steps below:

  1. Find your Web of Science Author Record with the steps on this page.
  2. Click on Correct the record under Improve this author record on the right-hand side.
  3. Sign in with your credentials in Web of Science/EndNote/Publons/ResearcherID.
  4. Click on Continue to Suggest a Correction.
  5. Remove the publication by clicking on the X icon and then click on Submit Updates.
  6. Fill in the information required.
  7. Web of Science will then review your submission within 72 hours. You will receive a confirmation if they accept your author record correction. The correction will normally take another 48 hours to complete.

Click to see screenshots

ORCID is an author identifier that can be used throughout your entire research career. It can be linked to and used by publishers, databases, funders, and organizations, so that it can save your efforts on manually input information when you submit your manuscript or apply for grants. By integrating your Researcher ID with ORCID, you can:

  • easily populate your ORCID profile with publications from Web of Science and keep records on both systems auto-updated
  • display your ResearcherID on your ORCID profile

Follow these steps to integrate your ResearcherID with ORCID:

  1. On the ‘Permissions’ page, click on "Link your ORCID".
  2. Go back to the permissions page and select ‘Grant Publons permission to update your ORCID works’ and confirm authorization request.
    (Note: You may also check the option "Keep my ORCID publication list up to date with my Publons account" if you wish to have any publication record added to your Publons profile in the future to be auto-added to your ORCID.)
  3. Click on "Export Publications to ORCID now".

After you have integrated ResearcherID with ORCID, your ResearcherID and ORCID ID will be linked and displayed on both platforms (see snapshot on the right). 


Tips

  • You can still maintain publications in Web of Science without having to register ResearcherID. Web of Science will be mapping the publication record with the author’s ORCID as long as the publication is listed under his/her ORCID profile. This allows authors to retrieve all publications in Web of Science by their ORCID.