Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PolyU Library

Hotel & Catering Management: Find Books

Your Starting Point for Research and Study in SHTM-related area.

New Books for SHTM's Subject Areas

Featured New Books

Tourism:

    latest printed books:

Loading, please wait...

 

    latest e-books:

Loading, please wait...

Event Management:


Hospitality:

latest e-books:

Loading, please wait...

 

    latest printed books:

Loading, please wait...

Wine Tasting:

    latest e-books:

Loading, please wait...

 

    latest printed books:

Loading, please wait...

Find E-Books

To search e-books from the Library homepage, you may follow the steps below:

  1. Select Books & Media +.
  2. You can choose Keywords, Titles, Author, etc. (Optional).
  3. Conduct a search.

     
  4. Limit the results to Full Text Online and Books.
  5. Click Online access.
     
  6. Click on the full text link provided to access the e-book.

To search e-books by publishers, click here.

Find Print Books

All printed books are assigned with a call number (e.g. TX911.3.M27 C68 2016).  It tells us where can we find this book.  

When you search a printed book via OneSearch, you can get a call number.  Clicking on CALL NUMBER LOCATIONS will link you to this page about the book's location.

 

Common call numbers for SHTM-related areas are listed below:

  • G154.9-155.8     Travel and Tourism (5/F)
  • TP548                Wine Tasting (G/F)
  • TX642-840         Cookery (G/F)
  • TX851-885         Dining-room service (G/F)
  • TX901-946.5      Hospitality industry (G/F)

If the book is unavailable, you can either Request the book or borrow it from HKALL

If the printed book is currently checked out by other users, you can request* the book online with the steps below:

  1. Click on Sign in.
  2. Sign in with your NetID and NetPassword.
     
  3. Click on Request.
  4. Click on REQUEST again to confirm.
  5. You will be notified by email when the requested item is ready for pick-up at circulation counter.

* Remark: You can only request those items on loan to another user. Items available on the bookshelves and items from Reserve Books Collection cannot be requested. 


Alternatively, you can try to borrow the unavailable book from HKALL.

You can also try to borrow the book from other local universities via HKALL*:

  1. Select Other Hong Kong Academic Libraries (HKALL) from our homepage.
  2. Sign in with your NetID and NetPassword.
  3. Conduct a search.
  4. Click on HKALL Request for the unavailable book.
  5. Click on REQUEST to confirm.
  6. You can pick up the book at circulation counter, normally within 2 - 4 working days.

* Remarks: HKALL can be used when:

i) You would like to request a printed book, and
ii) PolyU does not possess OR all of the circulation copies in PolyU are unavailable, and
iii) The status of the item in other institutions is “Available”.

Call numbers can be divided into 4 rows:

  • The first row is simply sorted in alphabetical order.
  • The second row is sorted in numerical order.
  • The third row consists of a character and a set of numbers.
    The character is sorted in alphabetical order;  The set of number is sorted as decimal numbers.
  • The last row represents the publication year, which is simply sorted by the year.

Below are some examples of the rules mentioned above:

Handbooks, Dictionary and Encyclopaediae for SHTM

These materials provide a good place to start your search because key concepts and terms are explained and bibliographies are often included. 

Hospitality:

 

Tourism:

Event Management:

 

Wine & Drinks:

Food:

  * Those items with call number are printed books.

Subject Search for SHTM

Relevant books within this subject area can be found under subject terms such as:

Tourism Hospitality industry -- Management   Hospitality industry


For more specific topics, books can be found under headings such as:

Bartending Business planning Caterers and catering
Cookery Consumer behavior Ecotourism
Food handling Food service Hospitality industry accounting
Hotel management Hotel housekeeping Hotels
Leisure industry Managerial accounting Medical tourism
Menus Public relations Quantity cooking
Tourism marketing Travel Travel agents
Restaurants Vegetarian cooking   Wine Tasting


To locate the above, perform a subject search with subject term. You may make use of the above subject headings to conduct subject searches in OneSearch

Books in Other Universities: HKALL

HKALL allows you to borrow books from BU, CU, CityU, EdU, LingU, HKU & UST. The requested book(s) be will send to our library for you to pick up!

Click here for eligibility, rules, and procedures about our HKALL service.

Free Academic books: DOAB

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) allow you to discover free access, free download academic books for at ease.

 

Online Reference Tool: Credo

   

Searching Library Resources

Effective Searching Strategies for Library Resources

SHTM Course Readings

To find required textbooks and other course readings, click here for course readings under SHTM.

SHTM Exam Papers

Visit PolyU Exam Paper Database for find past exam papers of SHTM and other disciplines.

To learn more, refer to the video instruction below: