Guides & Tutorials: University English: Find Popular Sources and Images, Videos &amp; Music Sources

Related Guides

Online Tools for Assignment - Images Sources
Introduce useful image platforms that may help to prepare your assignment.

About

Find "popular sources" and "Images, Videos & Music sources"

Popular sources inform and entertain the public or allow practitioners to share industry, practice, and production information.

Examples: newspapers, magazines, blogs, YouTube videos, personal websites

Images, videos & music sources that are licensed under one of the open source licenses, such as Creative Commons and other licenses.

There are a number of quality resources to search for government & organization information including reports, government documents, white papers, etc.

.gov
You might check ".gov" lists of government domains around the world.
Branches of the U.S. Government
International Labour Organization
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
United Nations Digital Library
UN System
Vault's Best Companies to Work For
It provides lists of top professional bodies on legal, consulting, banking and more.
The World Bank
World Health Organization

Open Source & Creative Commons Platforms

Images & Videos Sources
Music & Audio Sources

Google Images
It is one of the most popular online image sources.
You might filter results by usage rights (Creative Commons licenses vs Commercial & other licenses).
Wikimedia Commons
It is a collection of over 86,000,000 freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Please make sure you follow the Creative Commons license conditions indicated on the file's information page. You might filter results by license type.
Openverse
It contains over 600 million items.
All Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Many Flickr users have chosen to offer their work under a Creative Commons license, and you can browse or search through content under each type of license.
Vecteezy
It contains some free resources including vector files, photos, and videos.
Some contents are released under the Vecteezy Free License and attribution is required.
Freepik
It contains some free vector files, photos, PSD files, and icons.
Some contents are released under the Freepik Free License and attribution is required.
PNGTree
It contains PNG, PSD, AI, and EPS files.
The image content downloaded by free users is only for personal and private use and can be used for free to use under PNGTree License.
Vimeo
Creative Commons work with Vimeo to provide their users with the option of licensing works with the Creative Commons licenses.
Burst
It is a free stock photo platform and includes some high-resolution images that were shot by the global community of photographers.
Photos can be used for free under the Brust Image License. It encourages you to attribute the photographer whenever possible.
FreeRange
Once registered, you can download high-quality images.
Images can be free to use under Equalicense or the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.
Foodiesfeed
It contains highly visually appealing free food photos in high resolution.
All photos published on Foodiesfeed are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.
Pexels
It mainly contains photos and video. It supports searching in Chinese.
All photos and videos on Pexels can be downloaded and used for free, and are released under the Pexels License.
PIKWIZARD
It contains some high-quality and free stock images and videos.
Some photos are licensed under a free PIKWIZARD image license or the Creative Commons Zeo (CC0) license.
Pixabay
It contains video, photos, vector graphics, and illustrations.
All contents are released under the Pixabay License.
SPLITSHIRE
It contains some free stock photos.
Many photos are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.
Unsplash
Over 3 million free high-resolution images are brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
Photos can be free to use under the Unsplash License.
Kaboompics
Photos can be used for free under the Kaboompics License. It does not differ from Creative Commons with the one exception – the rules of redistribution.
rawpixel
It contains a collection of images, vectors, PNGs, PSD mockups and graphic templates.
Some photos are licensed under a free rawpixel image license or the Creative Commons Zeo (CC0) license.

Bensound
You can use Bensound's music available under the Free License (with the black download button) in your multimedia project (online videos, websites, animations, etc.) for free as long as you credit Bensound.com.
Internet Archive- Audio Archive
It contains over 14,000,000 results. Some collections provide Creative Commons-licensed details.
Internet Archive- The Netlabels collection
It contains almost 80000 results.
This collection hosts complete, freely downloadable/streamable, often Creative Commons-licensed catalogues of 'virtual record labels'.
CCMixter
It contains lots of remixes, and re-remixes.
Free Music Archive (FMA)
It offers many music genres.
FreeSound
It offers mostly sound effects.
Jamendo Music
It offers new independent artists-Free streaming.
MusOpen
It offers classical music; orchestra; the chamber group.
This page allows you to browse royalty free music by composer, performer, instrument, tag, form, or time period. It's designed to make our music collection easy to explore, listen to, or download for projects including YouTube videos, independent films, video games, and much more.