Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Electrical Engineering

Your Starting Point for Research and Study

Academic Writing for Engineering

New Books!

Find Books

The quickest way to find books is through a direct search in OneSearch. You may search by Keywords, Title of the Book, Call Number, or an ISBN number. Follow the steps below:

  1. Visit Library homepage, click on "OneSearch", or directly visit OneSearch.
  2. Type in your keywords or title of the book and hit the search button. When you start typing, OneSearch will automatically suggest popular searches for you.
  3. Limit results to "Books" under Resource Type on the right panel of the page. You may further refine results to "Physical items" (which means print books only), or "Full Text Online" (which means e-books only). 
  4. Click on the book title to see more information about the book.
  5. For print books, the location is described by its Call Number. You will need to find the book from the bookshelf and check it out at Loan and Return counter at P/F (see below for How to Read Call Numbers).
    For e-books, sign in with your NetID and NetPassword to get access to the full-text of the book.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Book checked out by others? Try the following ways to get a copy.

1) HKALL;   2) Place a hold (wait in the queue)

HKALL is a shared platform by 8 UGC-funded university libraries in Hong Kong. Eligible users can request a book from other libraries when the copy in PolyU is not available. The book will be then delivered to our Library in about 2-3 days for pick-up. 

Place a hold to reserve a book when the book is only available in our Library and there are no available copies from HKALL. After you place a hold, the previous user will be asked to return the book in about 28 days.

Follow the steps below to request a book from HKALL or reserve a local copy when HKALL does not apply.

  1. Click into the record of the checked-out book and sign in to the system if you haven't done so. 
  2. Click Search in HKALL. You will then be brought to the record page under HKALL.
  3. Click "Check holdings and other locations".
  4. Click HKALL Request if there are available copies from other HKALL Libraries. If no available copies, you may place a hold from PolyU Library by clicking Request.
  5. Proceed to Request if there is no Volume number or Standard number to specify. You will be notified by email when the book is ready to pick up.


Click to see steps in screenshots

You may also search a book from a database that collects e-books in the subject field. Note that login with NetID is required to access the following databases off campus.

Look for textbooks for your course?

Switch to Course Readings in OneSearch and search by subject code or title of the course, you will find all the required reading materials for that course listed below. 

e.g. AMA1110 - Basic Mathematics I

Find Print Books by Call Numbers

Most of the engineering books can be found on the Ground Floor (G/F) of the Library.

Each physical item is labeled with a call number, which contains both letters and numbers representing the source's location in the library, e.g., TJ808 .M43 2013. Books on the same subject will be placed in the same range on bookshelves. When you search a print book through OneSearch, you will get a call number, which tells you where you can find the book.

Refer to tab "How to Read Call Numbers" to learn more.

Call number range for electrical engineering subjects:

► Electrical and Electronics Engineering TK    (G/F)

  • TK452-454.4  Circuits, electric networks
  • TK1001-1841  Electric energy power
  • TK2896-3521  Production of electricity, transmission
  • TK5101-6720  Telecommunication
  • TK7800-8360  Electronics

► Computer Engineering QA and TK    (1/F and G/F)

  • Q300  Artificial intelligence
  • QA75.5-76.765  Computer science, software
  • T58.5-58.64  Information Technology
  • TK5100  Computer networks
  • TK7800-8360  Electronics
  • TK7885-7895  Computer engineering
  • Z102.5-104  Cryptography

For books from Book Collection:

  1. Read the Call Number.
    Note that the Library adopts Library of Congress classification scheme. Break the call numbers into four lines - this is how the call number is shown on the book label. The capital letters in the first line represent the subject area that book falls in. Read from left to right: A to Z, and smaller number to larger number. The last line indicates the year of publication, which can help you quickly identify the new books.
  2. Check Call Number Locations. In this example, TD locates at G/F.
  3. Locate the bookshelf. 
  4. Get the book and check it out at the Loan and Return counter at P/F. If you can not find the book, ask a library staff for help.

For books from other locations:

  • Reserve Collection: P/F (right next to Loan and Return counter)
  • Reference Collection: 
    • Call No. HM - Z: 3/F
    • Call No. A - HJ: G/F
  • Remote Store: Available by filling online request form.
Subjects: Engineering