Guides & Tutorials: Management: Find Books

Book not available in Library? Try HKALL!

There are chances that the book you need is not available in the library. Here are two ways to help you get a copy:

HKALL (to request a copy from another local library)
Place a hold (wait in the queue)

Visit this guide to learn the steps!

The quickest way to find books is through a direct search in OneSearch. You may search by Keywords, Title of the Book, Call Number, or an ISBN number.

Watch the short tutorial below to learn how to find and access e-books and print books in OneSearch.

You may also refer to the steps below:

Visit the Library homepage. Type in your keywords or title of the book and hit the search button. (You may also switch to the "Books & Media+" tab which will limit your search to books and physical AV materials only)
Limit results to "Books" under Resource Type on the right panel of the page. You may further refine results to "Physical items" (which means print books only), or "Full Text Online" (which means e-books only).
Click on the book title to see more information about the book.
For print books, the location is described by its Call Number. You will need to find the book from the bookshelf and check it out at the Service Counter at P/F (see below for How to Read Call Numbers).
For e-books, sign in with your NetID and NetPassword to get access to the full-text of the book.

Look for Course Readings?

You can find course reading materials (e.g. textbooks) prescribed by your instructors for specific courses from the "Resource List" page of your course page on Learn@PolyU. If "Resource List" page is not available, an alternative way is to go to the library homepage and search under "Course Resource List".

Learn more about Resource List in this guide.

Watch this 1-minute video to learn how:

Search Dictionaries, Handbooks, Encyclopaedias

Refer to the following e-resources for quick overview of a particular subject area in business.

Credo Reference is an online reference collection, and it features full-text content from hundreds of reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.
Oxford Reference provides access to 100 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works in various areas including language, science, medicine, humanities, social sciences, business and management.
Britannica Academic covers the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. It contains more than 72,000 articles, 75,000 definitions, 10,000 illustrations including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags. Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites is also included.
Gale eBooks Gale eBooks, formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL), includes encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Subject Search in Business & Management

Relevant books within this subject area can be found under subject terms such as:

Management	Management -- Research

For more specific topics, books can be found under headings such as:

Business enterprises	Leadership
Business ethics	Organization
Communication in management	Organizational behavior
Corporate culture	Organizational change
Decision making	Organizational effectiveness
Electronic commerce	Personnel management
Employees -- Training of	Product management
Entrepreneurship	Social responsibility of business
Intercultural communication	Strategic planning