The quickest way to find books is through a direct search in OneSearch. You may search by Keywords, Title of the Book, Call Number, or an ISBN number. Follow the steps below:
Book in the PolyU Library is 'Checked out' by other users?
Try the following ways to get a copy.
Option 1) use HKALL:
HKALL is a shared platform by 8 UGC-funded university libraries in Hong Kong. Eligible users can request a book from other libraries when the copy in PolyU is not available. The book will be then delivered to our Library in about 2-3 days for pick-up.
Option 2) Place a hold (wait in the queue for the local copy at PolyU Library)
Place a hold to reserve a book when the book is only available in our Library and there are no available copies from HKALL. After you place a hold, the previous user will be asked to return the book in about 28 days.
Follow the steps below to REQUEST a book from HKALL or QUEUE for a local copy (in PolyU Library) when HKALL does not apply.
You may also search a book from a database that collects e-books in the subject field. Note that login with NetID is required to access the following databases off campus.
Major ebook databases, which cover health related contents are:
To locate reference material in Chinese, try these:
Look for textbooks for your course? Use Resource List.
Resource List is an easy to use platform enable students to access course resources prescribed by the Instructors directly from Learn@PolyU. It allows Instructors and Librarians to collaborate and manage suggested readings and other resources in Resource List to support students’ learning.
See the video below and learn the details from this guide on Resource List.
[Note] The same content is also accessible from the Library website at the Course Resource List, Locate your course readings by the Course code or course name.
Most of the Occupational Therapy books (600+ titles) can be found on the First Floor (1/F) South Wing of the Library.
Each physical item is labeled with a call number, which contains both letters and numbers representing the source's location in the library, e.g. RM735.4 .B72 2016. Books on the same subject will be placed in the same range on bookshelves. When you search a print book through OneSearch, you will get a call number, which tells you where you can find the book.
Refer to tab "How to Read Call Numbers" to learn more.
Occupational Therapy topics
|Aging||backache||Acupuncture||arthritis - Physical therapy|
|Biomechanics||Cardiopulmonary system||Developmental neurobiology||Electrotherapeutics|
|Exercise therapy||Gait disorders||Geriatrics||Hand|
|Human anatomy||Human engineering||Human mechanics||Hydrotherapy|
|Joints||Kinesiology||Knee--wounds and injuries||Manipulation (therapeutics)|
|Massage||Massage -- Therapy||Mentally handicapped||Motor ability in children|
|Orthopedics||Muscles -- Examination||Older people -- Care||Musculoskeletal system|
|Pain||People with disabilities||People with disabilities -- Rehabilitation||Physical therapy for children|
|Physically handicapped||Sports sciences||Occupational therapy||Sensorimotor integration|
|Sports medicine||Sports injuries||Splints|
In OneSearch - Advanced Search mode, search by "subject" on these subject terms and restrict Material Type to "Books", and then (on the result listing page) apply filter=Availability ="Physical Items" or "Full Text Online" as per your needs.
Remember to confirm the selected filter/s by clicking on the green "APPLY FILTERS" button.
For books from Book Collection:
For books from other locations:
To get an overview of a topic or the definition of a subject, start from reference books like handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias. Do a quick search in one of the key databases below, or browse the reference books we highlighted from the PolyU Library collection (at the bottom of this page.
Credo Reference helps you start your nursing research with books of specialized terminology, works on nursing theory and leadership, and a guide to palliative care.