Skip to main content
Guides & Tutorial, Pao-Yue Kong Library, The Polytechnic University of Hong Kong

Resource List

A quick guide to help instructor and student get started with Resource List.

Why Resource List?

Need Help?

By Phone 2766-6863
WhatsApp 6423-0820 (WhatsApp)
9:00am - 7:00pm (Mon - Sat)
12:00nn - 7:00pm (Sun/Public Holidays when Library opens)
Online Enquiry Online Form (Login required) or email (lbviews@polyu.edu.hk)
In person Enquiry Counter, P/F, Pao Yue-kong Library
Information Consultancy Service Contact your Faculty Librarians

Introducing Resource List

Resource List provides students with easy access to reading materials prescribed by instructors for particular module right inside the Learn@PolyU course page, including books, readings and other online resources. 

Instructors can select resources, including OERs, and add them to Resource List with a few clicks.

Students can access books, articles, videos and OERs all from one page - Resource List on Learn@PolyU.

Use of Resource List (Reading list)

Course Instructors are welcome to create your own reading lists, which will be available to all students who are taking the same course.

Resource List can house general course resources, including print and electronic books & articles from the Library, audio materials, YouTube videos etc which can be used to supplement teaching. Steps to do so can be found in this guide.

By using the Resource List, Students who are taking the same course will be able to easily access these materials which you have listed as part of your teaching materials.

  1. Click on Resource List from the side menu in Learn@PolyU.
  2. Click on the course title to access the reading list.
  3. Click the NEW SECTION button at the top of the list.
  4. Give the section a name and description.
    ** Please follow the format for the Section Name: "Reading List Course code (Your name)"
  5. Provide the Start date and End date, if necessary.
     ** If the Date fields leave blank, the reading list will be available for entire academic year (eg. 3 Sep 2018 - 1 Sep 2019).
  6. Click Create.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Alternatively, you can send your reading list to the library by filling out the Recommend Course Readings & Reserve Books form. We will help create a list in Resource List upon receipt of your submission.

After you've created a Resource List with your name, you are ready to add some items into the list. You can add items straight from OneSearch within your list. This includes both books and journal articles. If you know what you want is available in the Library catalogue, then this is the easiest option to use.

Step 1: Add items into your reading list

A. To add items from OneSearch, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the + icon in the top-right corner of a list section.
  2. Enter the title or some keywords into the search field and click the Search button.
  3. Drag and drop your desired item(s) from the result list to your newly created Reading List. 

Click to see steps in screenshots

Resource List also enables you to add a range of other resources, including web links. You can embed links, for example, to Youtube videos, newspaper articles and Google books. You can use the Cite It! Bookmark button to quickly add blog posts, video, newspaper articles and almost anything available on the supported websites to your reading lists. 

B. (1) To add the Cite It! bookmark button, follow the steps below:

  1. Open the User Menu and click Cite It!.
  2. Drag & drop the Cite It! button into your bookmarks bar of the browser.
    * A list of Supported Websites is available for you to check which one supports the Cite It! feature. 

Click to see steps in screenshots

     (2) To add items from the external websites to your reading list with Cite It!, follow the steps below: 

  1. Browse anyone of the supported websites (eg. www.ted.com/talk) and click a video.
  2. Click Cite It! to open the import box that will add your citation to your list.
  3. Select the List and Section to add the resource to your list.
  4. Click Add & Close.

Click to see steps in screenshots

C. To manually add items from other sources, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the + icon in the top-right corner of a list section. The second tab Create enables you to add items manually.
  2. Fill out the required information. Add the hyperlink into the Source field.
  3. Select your Reading List from Section field.
  4. Click on Add.

Click to see steps in screenshots


Step 2: Inform library staff to put your selected items on reserve

Each item on your Resource List should have a tag to indicate whether it is on the Reference List or the Textbook List. For the print book that is tagged as Textbook List, it will be relocated from Book Collection to Reserve Collection for hourly (24 or 60) or 7-day loan.

Follow the steps below to add a tag for each item on your list:

  1. Click on Add tags to item under the title of each item.
  2. Hit the Add tags field and select the appropriate tag from the drop down menu.
  3. Click Save to finish.

Click to see steps in screenshots

After you've added a tag for each item on your Resource List, click on SEND LIST to inform the library staff and they will help process the reserved items.

Edit the list details:

To edit the name, description, start date and end date, follow the steps below:

1. Click on the options menu "" beside your list name.
2. Select Edit Section.
3. Edit the required information and click Save to finish.


Remove an item from your list:

1. Click on the options menu "" beside the concerned item.
2. Select Delete item, then click OK to confirm.


Reorder the items in your list:

1. Mouse over the item you want to move.
2. Use the "Drag citation" option at the right hand side of the item to move up or down.

Use of Resource List (Open Educational Resources)

Course Instructors can choose to create a new Resource List to house Open Education Resources (OERs) relevant to their course. Steps to do so can be found in this guide. By using the Resource List, Students who are taking the same course will be able to easily access the OERs you have listed as part of your teaching materials.

Steps to create a new Resource List below:

  1. Click on Resource List from the side menu in Learn@PolyU.
  2. Click on the course title to access the reading list.
  3. Click the NEW SECTION button at the top of the list.
  4. Give the section a name and description. E.g. "Open Educational Resources [Course code]"
  5. Provide the Start date and End date, if necessary.
     ** If the Date fields leave blank, the reading list will be available for entire academic year (eg. 3 Sep 2018 - 1 Sep 2019).
  6. Click Create.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Alternatively, you can work with your Faculty Librarian. We are happy to assist you in creating a list for your OER materials in Resource List.

After you've created a Resource List , you are ready to add some OER materials into the list. 

To add the OER items from other sources, follow the steps below:

  1. Click on the + icon in the top-right corner of a list section. The second tab Create enables you to add items manually.
  2. Fill out the required information*. Add the hyperlink into the Source field.
    *Check out the Library OER portal to find relevant OER materials for your course.
  3. Select your Reading List: Open Educational Resources "Course Code" from Section field.
  4. Click on Add.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Reports and Usage

Instructors can make use of analytics/data from Resource List to better understand how our students are making use of the Reading List for your courses. 

Analytics of your reading list are available in the Reports section in Resource List, found on the left-hand menu.
The Reports screen shows three tabs of reports: AnalysisUsage and Inactive.

  • Analysis tab: an overview of the activity on your reading list.
  • Usage tab: an overview of student interactions with resources on your list.
  • Inactive tab: reports of reading lists from previous sessions.

The Analysis tab contains a bar chart showing the general usage by the students, including the total no. of full-text views and "likes" received in the Resource List of all your courses.

The Usage tab contains detailed student usage of each of your Resource List in table format, below are the major statistics that you may be interested in:

  • Active Students: the number of students that either clicked, liked, or viewed a resource
  • Total Full Text Access: number of times the full text of any resource was accessed
  • Total Likes: total number of likes on all resources

Analytics available in the Reports section can be exported into an Excel spreadsheet for further analysis.

► Select the Page Options menu in the top right of each tap in Reports.
► Choose Export to Excel option.

FAQs

1. Why use Resource List?

2. There is a Course Scheme reading list in one of my courses, what is it?

3. How do I inform library staff to put the books from my reading list on reserve?

4. How long does it take to put the books on reserve after I've informed the library staff?

5. I don't see the Resource List tab in my course at Learn@PolyU, what can I do?

6. Can I upload a file (eg. a Powerpoint presentation) and add to my list on Resource List?

7. Can I invite my colleague to collaborate with me in editing the list?

8. I have created a reading list in Learn@PolyU, do I need to remove it and create a new one in Resource List?