Guides & Tutorials: Computing: Find Theses

Why Search for Theses & Dissertations

Theses and dissertations are extensive research papers required for earning a master's/doctorate degree. They showcase original findings that contribute to the field of study.

Theses and dissertations can help us:

understand existing research in a narrow scope
provide quick reference points for in-depth literature reviews and references of similar topics
learn how other researchers have approached similar topics
identify original research relevant to your field of study
learn how other researchers organize structure and format of their thesis

Find Theses & Dissertations

To look for theses and dissertations, you may search from the following databases. If full-text is not available, you can request a copy via our InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: The Sciences and Engineering Collection
Includes the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on sciences and engineering.
OpenDissertations (via EbscoHost)
Features EBSCO’s American Doctoral Dissertations and metadata from global institutions.
學位論文庫 (via CNKI 中國知網)
Includes the China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database and the China Master’s Theses Full-text Database, featuring collections from China’s 985 and 211 universities, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Academy of Social Sciences, and State Key Laboratory.
Digital Dissertation Consortium
Provides access to over 50,000 ProQuest dissertations and theses, with citations and abstracts for works accepted since 1861. Abstracts are available for doctoral dissertations from 1980 and master’s theses from 1988.

Click this guide to find more Theses & Dissertations databases.

From PolyU
From Other UGC-Funded University

PolyU Electronic Theses
Includes PolyU master's and doctoral theses (login required)
PolyU Institutional Research Archive
Includes PolyU master's and doctoral theses (open access)

City University Hong Kong (CityU)
CityU Scholars provides theses of research postgraduate and professional doctorate degree theses, most of which offers full-text for open access, but some selected theses and dissertations are only available to the current CityU staff and students.
Hong Kong Baptist University (HKBU)
HKBU Sholars offer access to student theses from MPhil and PhD programme and a selection of dissertations from taught postgraduate programs.
Lingnan University (LU)
Three theses collections: Lingnan Theses (Doctoral degree) from 1990s, Lingnan Theses (MPhil & PhD) from 1990s, and 廣州嶺南大學論文 Old Lingnan University Theses (1921-1952), with full-text access available for all unless stated otherwise.
The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK)
The CUHK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Collection (the ETD Collection) provides full-text theses and doctoral dissertations from postgraduate students at CUHK since 1967, featuring over 18,000 volumes in English and Chinese. Searchable PDFs include body text, abstracts, and tables of contents. Doctoral dissertations from 1997 onwards are also available via Dissertations & Theses @ CUHK for current staff and students.
The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK)
EDUHK Collection contains EDUHK academic student theses, openly accessible by the public.
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST)
HKUST Electronic Theses contains full images of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from most postgraduate students, accessible globally. Authorized HKUST users can access the full text of non-public theses, unless restricted by the author.
The University of Hong Kong (HKU)
HKU Electronic Theses & Dissertations (ETDs) includes theses and dissertations submitted for higher degrees at the University of Hong Kong since 1941, with online full-text access available unless restricted by the authors.