Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

[Library Workshops] Handouts and Recordings

This guide consolidates PPT slides, recordings and related information of completed workshops and webinars.

Need Help? Contact Us!

By Phone 2766-6863
WhatsApp 2766-6863 (service hours)
Online Enquiry Online Form or Email (lbviews@polyu.edu.hk)
In person Enquiry Counter, P/F, Pao Yue-kong Library
Information Consultancy Service Contact your Faculty Librarians on in-depth research questions
Handouts, Recordings in Previous Semesters (On or before Sem 1, AY2021/22)

  This page will share archival materials for Library Webinars conducted in or before Sem1, AY2020/2021. 

Workshops about Essential Skills for Academic and Research Success


Workshops about Essential Skills for Academic and Research Success 

This section covers webinar titles about achieving Academic Integrity, Disciplinary Research Information training, Databases Workshops provided by vendors, etc. 


► Workshops Conducted by Librarians

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LS033
Online Tools for AssignmentsThis workshop will introduce some online tools that can help students preparing their assignments, such as:
▪  Online References (e.g. Credo Reference, Encyclopaedia Britannica Online)
▪  Statistics (e.g. Statista, Passport)
▪  Data Tools (e.g. Open Refine, Tableau Public)
▪  Writing Adds (e.g. Just-the-word; Academic Phrasebank)
▪  Citation tools & Plagiarism Checkers (e.g. Citation Style Referencing Guide; zoterobib)
Download -- 30 Oct 2019
LS036
Library Resources and Services for Postgraduate Students**This workshop aims at helping postgraduate students utilize library resources and services available in and beyond PolyU Library. Topics include:
▪  Search and request books and articles available in and beyond the PolyU Library
▪  Identify electronic resources for research purposes, set up alerts on relevant topics
▪  Find dissertations and theses
▪  Demonstrate use of Reference Management Tools (e.g. EndNote) to better manage readings and references used during research
▪  Introduction to researcher profiles like ORCID
Various search techniques focusing on your topics will also be discussed.
Download -- 6 Nov 2019
LS039
Citing References and Avoiding Plagiarism What constitutes plagiarism? Would it still be plagiarism if you have cited your references correctly?
Join us to find out more about what constitutes plagiarism, learn some techniques to avoid plagiarism, and the concepts of reference types and citation styles. Instructor will demonstrate basic features of EndNote to help you better organize your references to make citing easier. Some commonly used plagiarism detection tools will also be introduced.
Download -- 4 Mar 2021
LS042
Mastering Techniques in Searching Business & Financial DatabasesThis webinar will demonstrate how to locate critical information to support business research: country forecast, industry and market outlook, company profile, brokerage report, news and journal articles.

Databases covered in the webinar include: Economist Intelligence Unit, Passport, Bloomberg Professional Services, Factiva and Business Sources Complete.
Download View 6 Oct 2021
LS053
Resources for China StudiesThe Library has subscribed to databases to support learning and research in China studies. This webinar will introduce some subject-related databases and how you can make good use of them to locate relevant information to support your research.

Key databases covered in the webinar include: China Academic Journal Network Publishing Database (中國學術期刊網絡版), Duxiu Academic Search (讀秀中文學術搜索), Chinese Classic Ancient Books (中國基本古籍庫), CEIC China Database, InfoBank China (中國資訊行).
Download View 29 Sep 2020
LS054
Exploring Features of Mendeley This workshop will allow participants to learn the basic features of Mendeley. Comparison of Mendeley and EndNote will be highlighted. The hands-on exercises will also allow participants to compile reference lists using Mendeley.
Download -- 3 Oct 2019
LS056
Using EndNoteThis workshop will cover basic features of EndNote 20.
In this highly interactive workshop, the instructor will serve as a facilitator to walk you through several EndNote tasks and showing you how the step-by-step instructions of Library EndNote Guide can help. You will also learn some best practices in addition to those covered in our EndNote Online Course.
You are strongly recommended to complete Modules 1 to 5 of the EndNote Online Course before joining this workshop.
Download -- 24 Nov 2021
LS056
Using EndNote (Part I: Essential Features)**This workshop will cover basic features of EndNote X9 – from downloading the software, adding references, organizing and managing references, to creating bibliographies in different citation styles. Participants will be able to work on the software and experience different features through hands-on exercises.
Download -- 2 Oct 2019
LS057
Using EndNote (Part II: Advanced Features)**In this workshop, participants will get to explore additional features available in EndNote X9 such as sharing references, working with Groups, finding and editing output styles, and more.
Download -- 14 Oct 2019
LS060
Specialized Workshop for Health Science SubjectsIf you are studying, researching, or teaching Health Sciences subjects, you must not miss this specialized webinar. We will enable you to search across various databases effectively on a subject interest, with a few critical searching tips for the different databases covered. It also introduces rich audio-visual resources that captured the tacit knowledge from various health professionals.

Databases covered in the webinar include: PubMed, CINAHL, Embase, PsyINFO, Cochrane Library.
Download View 25 Oct 2021
LS061
Searching Specialized Databases in Biology and ChemistryThis workshop focuses on a few databases especially useful for biology and chemistry research. Users will understand the different types of scientific information available in these databases.
▪  ProQuest Biological Science Collection
▪  SciFinder
▪  ACS Publications
▪  RSC Journal and eBooks collection
Download -- 10 Oct 2018
LS065
EndNote for Mac UsersThis workshop introduces essential features of EndNote X9 for Mac users such as downloading the software, creating an EndNote library, adding and editing references, creating bibliographies, and more.
Download -- 9 Oct 2019
LS066
Library Resources for CAR SubjectsWhat information sources should you use for your CAR assignment question? How to cite them? This workshop will help you identify, locate, and evaluate information sources based on required information needs. Learn concepts of citation, format various citation styles, and how to easily write proper citation.
Download -- 1 Mar 2021
LS072
Library Research for Freshmen**This workshop provides an introduction to undergraduate research using resources of the Library. Topics include:
▪  Understand types of resources in library
▪  Build effective search statements on a research topic
▪  Identify and evaluate relevant resources
▪  Use the sources wisely and cite properly
Download -- 16 Oct 2019
LS073
Databases for Hotel, Tourism, and Events ManagementThis webinar will demonstrate how to locate critical information to support research in Hotel and Tourism management such as consumer reports, industry outlook, statistics and journal articles.

Databases covered in the webinar include: Hong Kong Tourism Board PartnerNet, Passport, Statista, UNWTO eLibrary, CEIC China Database, Dissertations and Theses and others.
Download View 4 Oct 2021
LS077
Specialized Workshop for Fashion Marketing and Textiles ResearchStudies and research in fashion marketing, retailing and textiles research can cut across different disciplines and this webinar will cover the different databases to allow you to locate critical information to support your research and studies.

Databases covered in the webinar include: Berg Fashion Library, Passport, Statista, Just-style.com, ScienceDirect, WGSN, WWD.com
Download View 23 Sep 2020
LSE-01
E-discovery – Factiva Factiva is a premium global news and business database which gives you immediate access to over 33,000 sources from all over the world. The coverage includes US and international newspapers, newswires, trade journals, influential websites, blogs, images and videos. The quick snapshot and data for company and industry also allow you to gain business insight in seconds.
Workshop Outline:
▪  Select appropriate news source for finding current and historical newspapers
▪  Create effective search strategies for retrieving relevant news articles
Download View 5 Mar 2021
LSE-02
E-discovery - Finding StandardsThis webinar will briefly introduce why standards matter and how they can support your research. The class will give a quick guide on how to search standards in IHS Engineering Workbench and other available sources.

About IHS Engineering Workbench:
Formerly known as IHS Standards Expert, this database features a comprehensive collection of standards worldwide, including the standards from AATCC, ASME, ASTM, BSI, IEC and ISO.
Download View 28 Oct 2020
LSE-05
E-discovery - PassportPassport provides timely insights and analyses on industry and market research and data, consumer lifestyles, socioeconomic and demographic trends, from over 106 countries, helping you identify critical information for strategic decision-making in business.
Download -- 13 Feb 2018

**Remark: Online Courses are available for these workshops. Visit Library Online Courses for details.

 

► Webinars Conducted by Database Vendors

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LST-01
Westlaw Asia Workshop - Legal Resources for your Project and Research Work Westlaw Asia is an online legal research service which provides a unique collection of legal and regulatory information, e.g., case law, legislation, journals, current awareness, news and books/commentary etc.

Topics include:
▪   Content types and Jurisdictions covered
▪  How to get around in the platform
▪  Cases search, legislation search
▪  Commentary and journals search
▪  Current Awareness and news search
Download View 2 Nov 2021
LST-02
Passport Training - Making Effective Use of the Market Research Database Passport is a global market information database provides timely insights and analyses on industry, market research and data, consumer lifestyles, socioeconomic and demographic trends, from over 106 countries. This workshop aims to demonstrate use of Passport and how it can assist you in your research and learning.
Workshop Outline:
▪  What resources are available in Passport
▪  How to get around the platform, e.g. keyword searches, browse Full Tree for categories and topics, etc.
▪  Ways to refine results and get full text
▪  Tips for searching latest marking data and reports
Download View 29 Mar 2021
LST-09
SciFinder Training - Finding Quality Chemical Resources SciFinder is a research tool that allows you to access the world's largest collection of biochemical, chemical, chemical engineering, medical, and other related information. SciFinder provides access to the CAplus database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, to CASREACT, to the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service, and to Medline. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, substance database.
Workshop Outline:
▪  Use Categorize, Analyze and CAS indexing to find chemical references
▪  Use structure and molecular formula to search for complex materials, composites, alloys and organometallics…etc.
▪  Find both patents and journal articles in one single search
Download View 14 Apr 2021
LST-10
CINAHL and Medline Training - Finding Quality Literature and Tips for Systematic Review CINAHL is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. Users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more, from 1937 to the present. Medline is widely recognised as a premier source of biomedical literature. The Medline collection via EBSCOhost in the library contains more than 25 million records from 5,200+ selected publications from 1946 to the present.
Workshop Outline:
▪  Basic functions of CINAHL and Medline
▪  Construct effective search statements using keyword and MeSH
▪  7 Steps to the perfect PICO Search
▪  Tips on conducting systematic reviews with CINAHL and Medline
Download View 9 Apr 2021
LST-12
Effective Literature Search using China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI)The China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) has a new interface!

CNKI being a China Integrated Knowledge Resources Database has collections of resources in various formats, e.g. journals, doctoral dissertations, masters’ theses, etc.
This webinar aims to help our students and researchers become familiar with the new interface on the CNKI platform and explore essential features. Topic to be covered:
▪  Content available in CNKI
▪  Ways to navigate resources in different kinds
▪  Locate high quality research articles for your discipline(s)
▪  Tips for efficient literature searching
Download View 15 Oct 2020
LST-13
Cochrane Library - Literature Searching and Tips to Support Systematic ReviewsThe Cochrane Library is an electronic collection designed to supply high quality, independent evidence in health care.
In this webinar, you will be guided through the Cochrane Library platform to get familiar with its interface and essential features. Some latest enhancements and updates, including the new PICO search, will be introduced.
Topics will be covered:
▪  Content available in Cochrane Library and its compositions
▪  How to get around in the platform
▪  What’s new in Cochrane
▪  Using PICO Search to support EBM research
▪  How to set up alerts and find help
Download View 3 Nov 2021
LST-14
Mastering STATdx – a Powerful Diagnostic Imaging DatabaseSTATdx provides a rich collection of medical imaging and diagnoses for reference, and is also a good resource to improve users’ anatomy knowledge.

Topics include:
▪  An overview of STATdx
▪  Navigate STATdx and conduct effective searches
▪  Demonstrate the strength of features and tools on the platform
▪  Q & A discussion with participants
Download View 25 Nov 2021

Workshops about Tools to Support Authors and Scholarly Publishing


Workshops about Tools to Support Authors and Scholarly Publishing 

This section covers webinar titles about Research Analysis support, such as tools to evaluate journals, tips to manage author profiles, and publishing seminars delivered by publishes, etc.   


► Workshops Conducted by Librarians 

Code Topic Handout Recording Date
LS011
Citation Databases - Web of Science and ScopusWeb of Science and Scopus are important citation databases which enable users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from leading international research journals and conference proceedings. In this workshop, participants will use both databases to locate seminal works by topic and author. Through the activities, you will be able to appreciate the differences brought by these two core citation databases and use them for your research.
Download View 10 Nov 2021
LS034
Using Journal Analyzing Tools to Evaluate JournalsThis workshop aims to introduce key tools and metrics to evaluate journals, including Impact Factor in Journal Citation Reports (JCR) and CiteScore, SJR, SNIP in Scopus. Participants will learn how to evaluate and rank journals using these tools.
Download View 15 Nov 2021
LS045
Using Essential Science Indicators to Analyse Research PerformanceInCites Essential Science Indicators is a compilation of statistical information (publication, citation, and cites-per-paper counts) for scientists, institutions, countries, and journals. This workshop will show participants how to use this valuable tool to:
▪  analyze research performance of companies, institutions, countries, and journals
▪  rank top countries, journals, scientists, papers, and institutions by field of research
▪  determine research output and impact in specific fields of research
Download View 23 Nov 2021
LS055
Managing Author Profiles to Increase Your Research VisibilityThis workshop will introduce the commonly used author profiling tools a researcher may use to showcase their publications and other research outputs. The author profiling tools covered in this workshop will include Scopus Author ID, ORCID and ResearcherID (Web of Science). H-index, which can be used to measure the research performance of an author, will also be introduced.
Download View 8 Dec 2020
LS062
Using SciVal to Identify Research PotentialsSciVal is a web-based strategic analysis tool using Scopus data. This workshop will cover basics of SciVal, its underlying data, and the modules of SciVal. Participants will learn to use the tools to identify and analyze existing and potential research collaboration opportunities and analyze emerging areas of research.
Download View 1 Dec 2021
LS074
Publishing 101 - Basics of Academic Journal PublishingThis workshop will introduce the basics of academic journal publishing process - from choosing the right journal for submission, getting through peer review, to sharing your works online after publication and tracing the impact of your publications. Topics on open access, copyright and tips to increase research visibility will also be addressed.
Download View 6 Dec 2021
LS074A
Publishing 101: Tools and Tips for Journals SelectionChoosing an appropriate journal to submit can be complex for many researchers, especially early career researchers who are new in journal publishing. To help you succeed, this webinar will show you some tools and tips in journal selection.
The following topics will be covered:
▪  General criteria of selecting a journal for submission
▪  Tools to find quality and relevant journals in a research discipline
▪  Tools to check potential predatory journals and ways to avoid them
Download -- 19 May 2020
LS074B
Publishing 101: Preparing for Manuscript SubmissionUnderstanding the publishing cycle of scholarly journals can help you to better prepare for manuscript submission. You will be introduced to the different processes involved in submitting a manuscript for review in this workshop. We will also share some tips on how to improve your chances of getting manuscripts to be accepted.
Download -- 27 May 2020
LS074C
Publishing 101 - Sharing your Publications and Managing Author ProfilesMany researchers would share their own publications on various channels in order to increase the visibility of their research. In this workshop, you will be introduced to the different versions of a manuscript and how to ensure that you are sharing the right version without infringing copyright. Popular author profiling tools to manage and showcase your publications will also be covered.
Download -- 5 Jun 2020
LS075
Introduction to SciVal for Administrative StaffSciVal is a web-based strategic analysis tool using Scopus data. This workshop is tailor-made for administrative staff. It will cover basics of SciVal, its underlying data, and the modules of SciVal. Participants will learn to use the modules in SciVal to identify, analyze and compare different institutions, countries and groups of researchers in different subject areas.
Download -- 21 May 2019
LS076
Introduction to Citation Databases for Administrative StaffIn this workshop specially designed for Administrative staff, participants will gain an understanding on how Scopus and Web of Science, the two core citation databases, are used to support researchers and academic research. Participants will also be introduced to basic metrics to evaluate journals, articles and authors. Through the in-class activities, participants will be able to identify the research impact of the research outputs and individual researcher by generating the citation metrics on the two core citation databases.
Download -- 24 May 2019
N/A Open Access Briefing Session for Academic Staff Download View 25 Feb 2022
N/A
ORCID ID & Scopus Author Profile IntegrationMaintaining an accurate ORCID profile that is integrated with your Scopus Author Profile can help increase the discoverability of your publications. This is also a requirement by the University.
This seminar will introduce the processes of integrating your ORCID iD with Scopus so that your publications from Scopus can be included to enrich your ORCID profile.

Topics to be covered:
▪  ORCID ID – Registration and enriching with publications from Scopus
▪  Scopus Author Profile – Common issues faced by researchers including how to maintain and manage profiles
▪  Q&A
Download View 13 Jan 2022

Publishing Seminars

► Publishing Seminars Conducted by Editors

Topic Publisher / Co-organizer Handout Recording Date
Getting Published in Nature Journals – From an Editor’s Views Springer Nature -- -- 20 Dec 2021
Publishing with Cell Press in Material Science Cell Press -- View 25 May 2021
Publish Open Access Articles in Cambridge University Press Journals Cambridge University Press Download View 3 Mar 2021
Getting Published in Nature and Nature Research Journals Springer Nature Download View 10 Dec 2020
Publishing Your First Academic Book: Tips to Help You Succeed Routledge Download View 3 Nov 2020
Publishing in Academic Journals: Tips to Lead you Succeed Taylor & Francis Download -- 11 Nov 2019
Peer Review 101: Improve Your Own Manuscript by Understanding the Peer Review Process Clarivate Analytics Download -- 17 May 2019
Tips to Get Published in Academic Journals Taylor & Francis Download -- 25 Apr 2019
Publishing Your First, or Next, Academic Book Routledge Download -- 6 Nov 2018
Getting Published in Medical Journals  BMJ Download -- 11 Oct 2018
From Conference Poster to Publication - Tips for Getting Published in Language and Teaching Journals ELC, PolyU Download -- 9 May 2018
Publishing in Academic Journals - Tips to help you succeed Taylor & Francis Download -- 19 Apr 2018
Making Your Research Count Springer Nature Download -- 7 Feb 2018
Making Your Research Open in the Right Way Taylor & Francis Download -- 3 Nov 2017
How to Publish a Technical Paper with IEEE IEEE Download -- 24 Oct 2017
Behind the Scenes at the Nature Journals Springer Nature Download -- 30 Jun 2017
Peer Review: Basics and Benefits Wiley Download -- 23 May 2017
Guide to Getting Published Emerald Download -- 27 Apr 2017
Maximize Your Research Impact through Open Access Publishing BMC Download -- 28 Oct 2016
Enriching the Research Lifecycle with Open Science  Wiley Download -- 27 Oct 2016
Introduction to Open Publishing Taylor & Francis Download -- 25 Oct 2016
Author Strategies for Successful Journal Publication Wiley Download -- 3 May 2016
Publishing in Academic Journals: Tips to help you succeed Taylor & Francis Download -- 29 Oct 2015