You may be required to adopt a specific citation style when you are preparing to submit a manuscript to a journal. There are more than 400 citation styles pre-installed in EndNote for your selection:
If you still cannot find the style you need, try to download it from EndNote Output Styles, where you can find more than 6000 styles including those from publishers, journals, etc.
By default, the downloaded citation style will be saved in Documents > EndNote > Styles.
Sometimes the styles EndNote provides may not exactly meet your needs. You may need to modify the style to fit into the requirement. EndNote is well known for its highly customizable citation styles. To edit or customize a citation style, you can refer to the tips below.
Identify the area(s) you would like to edit from the sidebar. Below are some examples.
Edit the style according to your needs, e.g. to remove DOI for journal articles. In this case, you will need to edit the Templates under Bibliography.
To save an edited citation style, follow Steps 5 - 10 in Get More Citation Styles. By default, the edited citation style will be saved in Documents > EndNote > Styles.
You may seek our help via the Research Consultation Appointment Form if you wish us to work with you in editing the citation style.
Sometimes, you may need a copy of your reference list in the Word document for backup or sharing purpose. In this case you may follow the steps below:
Note that references created from "Copy Formatted" are in plain text format.
Refer to Insert In-text Citations and Create Bibliographies to learn how to create both in-text citations and bibliographies.
You can use Find Full Text feature to download full-text articles for references saved in your EndNote library. However, this function is limited by the University's subscription and other technical issues.
Do use this function with care and only download the full-text of the articles you intend to read. If you use this feature for a huge library, you might trigger off excessive or systematic download which is prohibited and may cause University-wide suspension to affected databases.
To use this function, you need to first change a few settings in your EndNote, with the steps below:
Then you can use the Find Full Text feature with the following steps:
Manuscript Matcher can help you find the best fit journals for publishing based on 1) the title and abstract of your manuscript, and 2) the references in your EndNote library or a Word document. The source data is from Web of Science, so most of the suggested journals will have an Impact Factor.
From your EndNote Library:
From a Word document:
You can learn more from the official video tutorial below:
This makes use of the Citation Report function in Web of Science. You can get a citation report from WOS for a group of references in your EndNote library if they are imported from Web of Science:
You can export and save your references in XML format and then import it to Mendeley or Zotero. If you have created groups in your EndNote library, we advise you to export your references group by group so that you don't lose your groupings when exporting to Mendeley or Zotero.
You can import references into Mendeley with the steps below:
You can import references into Zotero with the steps below:
EndNote only provides mobile apps for iOS. For the basic features, please refer to the official guide.
For in-text citation, EndNote for iOS only allows inserting temporary citation in a Word document. You still need to complete the in-text citation and bibliography by Cite-While-You-Write in MS Word installed via EndNote desktop or EndNote Web.
You may learn more from the instructions here.