Library Online Guide for EndNote X9

You may be required to adopt a specific citation style when you are preparing to submit a manuscript to a journal. There are more than 400 citation styles pre-installed in EndNote for your selection:

1. Click on the style box.
2. Choose Select Another Style... from the menu.
3. Browse or search for the citation style you wish to use.
4. Click on Choose.

Click to see steps in screenshots

If you still cannot find the style you need here, try to download it from EndNote Output Styles, where you can find more than 6000 styles including those from publishers, journals, etc.

1. Visit EndNote Output Styles directly, or click on Help > EndNote Output Styles.
2. Search the citation style (e.g. a keyword, a journal title) and then click Apply.
3. Download the style you wish to have.
4. Double-click to open the style.
5. To save the style into your EndNote library, click on File.
6. Then select Save as...
7. Name and Save the style downloaded.
8. To use the style, click on the style box and choose Select Another Style... from the menu.
9. Search for the citation style you downloaded.
10. Click on Choose to apply the style.

Click to see steps in screenshots

By default, the downloaded citation style will be saved in Documents > EndNote > Styles.

Sometimes the styles EndNote provides may not exactly meet your needs. You may need to modify the style to fit into the requirement. EndNote is well known for its highly customizable citation styles. To edit or customize a citation style, you can refer to the tips below.

1. Select the style you would like to edit, e.g. APA 6th.
2. Click on Edit.
3. Select Output Styles.
4. Click on Edit "(the style name)" to open the style manager.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Identify the area(s) you would like to edit from the sidebar. Below are some examples.

1. Journal Names: controls journal name format, e.g. using full or abbreviated journal name.
2. Sections: controls where to add a bibliography in your Word document, e.g. at the end of the entire document or a separate bibliography at the end of each section.
3. Citations: controls the format and overall settings of the in-text citations.
4. Author Lists under Citations: controls the format and number of authors displaying in in-text citations.
5. Bibliography: controls the format and overall settings of the reference list.
6. Title Capitalization under Bibliography: controls if the title in reference list displays as headline style, sentence style or leave it as entered.

Click to see the screenshot

Edit the style according to your needs, e.g. to remove DOI for journal articles. In this case, you will need to edit the Templates under Bibliography.

1. The field names (e.g. Author, Year, Title) defined in EndNote indicate what information is included in your formatted reference.
    
2. Click on Insert Field to see full list of field names defined in EndNote.
3. Singular/Plural Term Separator (caret symbol ^) is used between the singular and plural versions of terms.
   
   In the case below, Ed. will be shown if there is only one editor, and Eds. will be shown if there are multiple editors.
   
    
4. Link Adjacent Text (diamond symbol ♦ ) is used to link text to a field so that the text does not appear if the field is empty. It's similar to a non-breaking space in Word document.
   
   In the case below, ed. will be shown only when the Edition information in the reference record is not empty.
   
    
5. Forced separation (vertical bar |) is used to separate punctuation from adjacent fields.
   
   In the case below, all the Edition, ed., Vol. and Volume will show together or disappear together if there is no forced separation (vertical bar |) between them.
   
    
6. Field names as plain text (a pair of back quote symbol `  `) tells EndNote to treat the quoted word(s) as plain text instead of field name.
   
   In the case below, both the word "doi:" and DOI field will be shown if "doi:" is put within a pair of back quotes.
   

Click to see steps in screenshots

To save an edited citation style, follow Steps 5 - 10 in Get More Citation Styles. By default, the edited citation style will be saved in Documents > EndNote > Styles.

You may seek our help via the Research Consultation Appointment Form if you wish us to work with you in editing the citation style.

Sometimes, you may need a copy of your reference list in the Word document for backup or sharing purpose. In this case you may follow the steps below:

1. Choose the citation style you wish to use.
2. Select the references you would like to include in the list of references.
3. Right-click on the selected references, then choose Copy Formatted.
4. Paste into your Word document. Then, you will see a list of selected references displayed in your chosen style.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Note that references created from "Copy Formatted" are in plain text format.

Refer to Insert In-text Citations and Create Bibliographies to learn how to create both in-text citations and bibliographies.

You can use Find Full Text feature to download full-text articles for references saved in your EndNote library. However, this function is limited by the University's subscription and other technical issues.

Do use this function with care and only download the full-text of the articles you intend to read. If you use this feature for a huge library, you might trigger off excessive or systematic download which is prohibited and may cause University-wide suspension to affected databases.  

To use this function, you need to first change a few settings in your EndNote, with the steps below:

1. Click on EndNote X9.
2. Select Preferences...
3. Select Find Full Text on the sidebar.
4. Input https://julac.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/HKPU_ALMA/HKPU_SERVICES_PAGE for the OpenURL Path.
5. Input https://login.ezproxy.lb.polyu.edu.hk/login for Authenticate URL.
6. Click on Save.

Click to see steps in screenshots

Then you can use the Find Full Text feature with following steps:

1. Select the references that you wish to find the full text.
2. Click on the Find Full Text icon and login with your NetID and NetPassword, then click continue.
3. A clip will be added if full-text PDF is found.
4. It is possible that EndNote found the article URL only, or even found nothing. In this case, just download the full-text PDF via OneSearch or other databases and attach it to the reference (see Attach PDF).

Click to see steps in screenshots

Manuscript Matcher can help you find the best fit journals for publishing based on 1) the title and abstract of your manuscript, and 2) the references in your EndNote library or a Word document. The source data is from Web of Science, so most of the suggested journals will have an Impact Factor.

From your EndNote Library:

1. Right-click on a group of publications.
2. Click on Manuscript Matcher.
3. Input Title and Abstract.
4. Click on Find Journals >, EndNote will then suggest the best fit journals for your manuscript for reference.

Click to see steps in screenshots

From a Word document:

1. Click on EndNote X9.
2. Click on Manuscript Matcher.
3. Follow Steps 3 - 4 above.

Click to see steps in screenshots

This makes use of the Citation Report function in Web of Science. You can get a citation report from WOS for a group of references in your EndNote library if they are imported from Web of Science:

1. Import reference(s) from Web of Science.
2. Select the imported references and then right-click.
3. Select Web of Science.
4. Click on Create Citation Report. You will be able to see the citation numbers in Web of Science for the selected references. 

Click to see steps in screenshots

To import references from EndNote to LaTeX, you need to export the references in BibTeX format:

1. Click on the style box and choose Select Another Style... from the menu.
2. Select BibTeX Export format.
3. Click on Choose.
4. Click on File.
5. Select Export...
6. Click on Save.
7. Change the file extension to .bib.
8. Confirm by clicking Use .bib.

Click to see steps in screenshots

You may refer to this guide for more information on using EndNote with LaTeX and BibTeX.

EndNote only provides mobile apps for iOS. For the basic features, please refer to the official guide.

For in-text citation, EndNote for iOS only allows inserting temporary citation in a Word document. You still need to complete the in-text citation and bibliography by Cite-While-You-Write in MS Word installed via EndNote desktop or EndNote Web.

You may learn more from the instructions here.