Skip to Main Content
PolyU Library

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Services (ILL&DDS)

Provide support to the PolyU community by obtaining literature beyond collections in the PolyU Library.

Submit a Request

Eligible users can submit a request via PolyU ILLiad System:

 

You may refer to User Guide or Video Tutorial to learn how to place a request.

Contact Us

 Phone   2766-6971 (ILL&DDS Team)
 Whatsapp   2766-6863
 Email   lbilloan@polyu.edu.hk
 In Person   Enquiry Counter, P/F, 
  Pao Yue-kong Library

Check our collection before submitting an ILL&DDS request


The Library will reject requests for items found in our collection. To ensure efficient time spent, we recommend that you check our holdings in OneSearch before submitting a request. Here are some tips to check our collection:

To find a book chapter online, you need to search by the name of the book chapter instead of the name of the book. In the following example, you should search for Identity, Culture and Politics instead of The Ends of Empire:

Connell, J., & Aldrich, R. (2020). Identity, Culture and Politics. In The Ends of Empire (pp. 111–193). Springer Singapore.

Please refer to the steps below:

  1. Input the book chapter name in OneSearch.
  2. Select Book Chapters under the Resource Type, then click on APPLY FILTERS.
  3. Click on the title or the link below to find more information about this book chapter.
  4. Choose the available database(s) in the record.
  5. Click on the title of the paper to read it online. Some platforms let you download the entire book in PDF, while others only let you download a certain number of pages each day due to copyright constraints.

To find a conference proceeding, you need to search by the name of the conference instead of the name of the paper. In the following example, you should search for Construction Research Congress 2022 instead of Evaluation of Safe-to-Fail Criteria for Coastal City Flooding:

Rahat, R., Elzomor, M., & Pradhananga, P. Evaluation of Safe-to-Fail Criteria for Coastal City Flooding. Construction Research Congress 2022, 386-395.

Please refer to the steps below:

  1. Input the name of the conference in OneSearch.
  2. Select Book and Conference Proceedings under the Resource Type, then click on APPLY FILTERS.
  3. Click on the title or the link below to find more information about this record.
  4. Click on the available database(s).
  5. Click on the title of the paper to read it online or you may download the full-text PDF.

Click to see steps in screenshots

You can search for conference papers in the databases by following the steps below:

  1. Visit the Library homepage and navigate to the Databases tab.
  2. Click on Browse the Databases by Type.
  3. Click on the Conference Papers and choose the databases that are relevant to your conference papers.

Click to see steps in screenshots

To search a journal article in a print journal, you need to search with the journal name instead of the name of the article. In the following example, you should search for Studies in second language acquisition instead of Avoidance of phrasal verbs—A case for contrastive analysis:

Dagut, M., & Laufer, B. (1985). Avoidance of phrasal verbs—A case for contrastive analysisStudies in second language acquisition7(1), 73-79.

Please refer to the steps below:

  1. Input the name of the print journal in OneSearch.
  2. Select Journal under the Resource Type, then clicks on APPLY FILTERS.
  3. Click on the title or the link below to find more information about this print journal.
  4. Check the available issues here.
  5. Click on the location button to show the location of the print journal. You can copy or scan the articles you needed for private study and research purposes.

You can search for an electronic article with the steps below:

  1. Input the article title or keyword in OneSearch.
  2. Select Article under the Resource Type, then click on APPLY FILTERS.
  3. Click on the link(s) provided in order to read and download the e-article.

For materials in the Remote Store Collection, you can request for the item using our Request Service to access the item with steps below:

  1. Sign in with your NetID and NetPassword.
  2. Click on Request (Remote Store) button.
  3. Fill in the chapter/article title, author, start page, end page, and other information.
  4. Check the box to accept our terms.
  5. Click on the SEND DIGITIZATION REQUEST button to submit the request.
  6. For articles, we will send a PDF file of the article to your PolyU email account. For books, we will notify you to pick up the material via email.

For databases that do not provide full-text, you can click on the  PolyU eLinks  button to link to the publisher page and download the full-text PDF if the Library has subscription: