The Library is launching a series of workshops on various topics. Staff and students who are interested in making effective use of information are welcome to join and register at https://www.lib.polyu.edu.hk/workshops/.
You are also welcome to seek Faculty Librarian's assistant if you missed the session.
This workshop will explore the use of several specialized databases in social sciences including Counseling and Therapy in Video, Sage Knowledge, PsycInfo (1806+), Oxford Bibliographies. Social Work, EBSCOhost, and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). The hands-on exercises will enrich participants to compile comprehensive assignments and researches.
Target participants: Social science students (Undergraduates and postgraduates)
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume II (former name is Counseling and Therapy in Video) provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
contains the entire social work abstracts database, providing abstracts for journal articles and citations of social work literature from 1977 to the present, plus listings of over 600 major social work books; specialized text information such as professional standards, legal regulations, state licensing laws, career information, and position paper; and the complete 1991 NASW Register of Clinical Social Workers.
(This database will be unsubscribed from 31 Dec 2017.)
provides a full-text database of more than 1000 scientific, technical & medical peer-reviewed journals. Fields covered include business and management, civil engineering, engineering and technology, environmental science.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume IV (former name is Counseling and Therapy Online: Current Practices) is a multimedia collection that addresses the current best practices for counseling and therapy. It includes transcripts of real therapy sessions, video presentations by practicing therapists as well as presentations and publications by renowned academic therapists.
The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy provides the latest research and best practice methods in social sciences areas including counseling, mental health, psychology, client-counselor relations, diagnosis, education, populations, relationships, and therapeutics.
Information Consultancy Service
Contact your Faculty Librarians for advice on identifying and using of various library and online resources.
Information Desk Service
Visit our duty librarian at the Research Help Desk, Research Enhancement Centre, 3/F, Library.
Telephone Enquiry Service
Call us at 2766-6863.
WhatsApp Enquiry Service Contact us at 6423-0820. 9:00 am - 7:00 pm (Mon - Sat) and 12:00 nn - 7:00 pm (Sun/public holidays when Library opens)
Online Reference Enquiry Service
The Online Reference Enquiry Service helps you in using library and information resources for your study and research. We will respond to your enquiry within 1 working day.