The Library is launching a series of workshops on various topics. Staff and students who are interested in making effective use of information are welcome to join and register at https://www.lib.polyu.edu.hk/workshops/.
You are also welcome to seek Faculty Librarian's assistant if you missed the session.
This workshop will explore the use of several specialized databases in social sciences including Counseling and Therapy in Video, Sage Knowledge, PsycInfo (1806+), Oxford Bibliographies. Social Work, EBSCOhost, and Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI). The hands-on exercises will enrich participants to compile comprehensive assignments and researches.
Target participants: Social science students (Undergraduates and postgraduates)
(former name is Counseling and Therapy in Video) provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible
The videos in this collection, drawn from the catalogs of Microtraining Associates, Psychotherapy.net, and the University of Manchester Department of Psychiatry, have been created by a variety of organizations and individuals dedicated to the advancement of education and training in counseling and therapy.
(former name is Counseling and Therapy Online: Current Practices) is a multimedia collection that addresses the current best practices for counseling and therapy. It includes transcripts of real therapy sessions, video presentations by practicing therapists as well as presentations and publications by renowned academic therapists.
is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber from 1987 to present.
is published by the American Psychological Association and provides bibliographic, plus full text and multimedia of psychological tests from the early 1900s to the present. Test records include descriptive summaries of the test and its development and administration, mostly drawn from articles in peer-reviewed journals or books, with downloadable tests. Most of the test records contain the actual test or test items.
is a multi-disciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the content of over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals, 33 million abstracts, 386 million scientific web pages, and 21 million patent records. Subject coverage includes life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, engineering, and social sciences. The database also provides references cited for articles published after 1996.
is a multidisciplinary database which indexes more than 1725 journals across 50 disciplines. It contains searchable author abstracts as well as cited reference list. It is updated with appropriate 2,700 new records every week.
Some of the disciplines covered include: Anthropology, Political Science, History, Public Health, Industrial Relations, Social Issues, Information Science & Library Science, Social Work, Law, Sociology, Linguistics, Substance Abuse, Philosophy, Urban Studies, Psychology, Women's Studies, Psychiatry.
Information Consultancy Service
Contact your Faculty Librarians for advice on identifying and using of various library and online resources.
Information Desk Service
Visit our duty librarian at the Research Help Desk, Research Enhancement Centre, 3/F, Library.
Telephone Enquiry Service
Call us at 2766-6863.
WhatsApp Enquiry Service Contact us at 6423-0820. 9:00 am - 7:00 pm (Mon - Sat) and 12:00 nn - 7:00 pm (Sun/public holidays when Library opens)
Online Reference Enquiry Service
The Online Reference Enquiry Service helps you in using library and information resources for your study and research. We will respond to your enquiry within 1 working day.