4 - Online Resources - Language and Linguistics - Guides & Tutorials at The Hong Kong Polytechnic University

Online Resources

This section lists various online resources that may be relevant to your research, including research centres, online language corpora and professional organisations.

Online Resources

Research Centres

Language Corpora

Corpus Resources from the Department of English, PolyU
Listings of online corpora, text archives, lexical analyzers, phonetic analysis and more.
The Linguist List: International Linguistics Community Online
Listings of corpora and other searchable electronic texts.

Professional Organisations

Overseas

Hong Kong And China

Professional Organisations and Bodies (Languages & Linguistics)

Overseas

American Association for Applied Linguistics
AAAL is a professional society of scholars from over 50 countries worldwide. AAAL facilitates the advancement and dissemination of knowledge and understanding regarding language-related issues in order to improve the lives of individuals and conditions in society.
American Comparative Literature Association
The American Comparative Literature Association, founded in 1960, is the principal learned society in the United States for scholars whose work involves several literatures and cultures as well as the premises of cross-cultural literary study itself.
Australian Linguistics Society
The Australian Linguistic Society is the national organisation for linguists and linguistics in Australia. Its primary goal is to further interest in and support for linguistics research and teaching in Australia. The Australian Linguistic Society is one of the two main linguistics societies in Australia (the other is the Applied Linguistics Association of Australia).
British Association for Applied Linguistics
BAAL is a professional association, based in the UK, which provides a forum for people interested in language and applied linguistics.
British Comparative Literature Association
The British Comparative Literature Association (BCLA), founded in 1975, aims to promote the scholarly study of literature without confinement to national and linguistic boundaries, and in relation to other disciplines. The BCLA’s primary interests are in literature, the contexts of literature and the interaction between literatures.
Chartered Institute of Linguists (CIOL)
The Chartered Institute of Linguists (CIOL) is the UK's Royal Charter body for language practitioners. We aim to enhance the recognition and promote the value of languages and language skills in the public interest. Founded in 1910, CIOL has over 5,000 members worldwide with more than 1,200 of them Chartered Linguists.
International Association of Applied Linguistics
AILA is the acronym for Association Internationale de Linguistique Appliquée or International Association of Applied Linguistics. AILA (originally founded in 1964 in France) is an international federation of national and regional associations of Applied Linguistics.
International Comparative Literature Association
Founded in 1955, the International Comparative Literature Association (ICLA) offers a home to all comparatists in the world and encourages exchange and cooperation among comparatists, both individually and through the collaboration of various national comparative literature associations.
National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics
The National Institute for Japanese Language and Linguistics (NINJAL) is a research institute for the Japanese language founded in 1948. Since 2009, it has operated as an Inter-University Research Institute established by the Inter-University Research Institute Corporation "National Institutes for the Humanities."

Hong Kong And Mainland

Hong Kong Association for Applied Linguistics
A professional, non-political organization for applied linguists to promote applied linguistics in Hong Kong.
Linguistics Society of Hong Kong
Since its establishment in 1986, LSHK has been dedicated to advancing the development and promotion of linguistics in Hong Kong. We play a crucial role in supporting linguistic research and teaching across the region. Our Executive Committee consists of linguists from various local universities, including both UGC-funded and self-financed tertiary institutions.

Corpus Resources

Resources for corpora and searchable text collections

Corpus Resources by Department of English, PolyU

Resource links for online corpus, text archive, word frequency, lexical analyzers, phonetic analysis, etc.

The Linguist List

List of corpora and searchable electronic texts

British National Corpus (BNC)

A 100-million word corpus of contemporary British English from a wide range of genres (e.g. spoken, fiction, magazines, newspapers, and academic)

The Corpus of Contemporary American English (COCA)

The largest freely-available corpus of American English which contains more than 520 million words of text

BYU Corpora

A list of the most widely used online corpora, created by Mark Davies of Brigham Young University

Buckeye Speech Corpus

北京大學中國語言學研究中心語料庫提供現代漢語 , 古代漢語身和漢英雙語的語料庫

中央研究院漢語平衡語料庫

中研院上古漢語標記語料庫

中研院漢籍電子文獻

語料庫在線

國家語言資源動態流通語料庫

HSK動態作文語料庫

Corpus Resources from the Department of English, PolyU
Listings of online corpora, text archives, lexical analyzers, phonetic analysis and more.
Linguist List
Listings of corpora and other searchable electronic texts.

Corpora and Searchable Text Collections