Skip to main content
Guides & Tutorial, Pao-yue Kong Library, The Polytechnic University of Hong Kong

Tourism Management: Internet Resources

Your Starting Point for Research and Study in SHTM-related area.

Market and Industrial Reports

Passport Formerly known as Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database), provides information on detailed market size, country marketing parameters, marketing forecast data, consumer lifestyles, business sources as well as marketing profiles and analysis.
The World Fact Book Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
World Industry and Market Outlook Report Provides descriptions of worldwide major and minor industries, including manufacturing, retail, wholesale and services industries.
World Bank Annual Report Provides regional information like GDP per capita, Youth literacy rate, labor participation rate and more. 

 

Statistics and Demographic Reports

UNWTO Gathers tourism statistics from countries and territories around the world into a vast database that constitutes the most comprehensive statistical information available on the tourism sector.
PATA mPOWER One-stop for data about the Asia Pacific visitor economy, improving productivity, providing faster insights and enabling smarter decisions.
The International Organisation of Vine and Wine A world recognized organization for wine statistics.
Eurostat Provides statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
World Bank Open Data Provides free and open access to global development data.
Hong Kong Census and Statistics Department  Provides statistics covering various social and economic aspects of Hong Kong.

 

Industry News

Business Traveller  Provides the latest business travel news, including hotel reviews, destination information, airline reports and the latest travel discount offers.
Factiva Provides worldwide full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, market research reports, etc.
Hotel News Now An online news resource to provide vital, up-to-the-minute information for hotel decision makers throughout the world.
Hotel Online A premier daily email and news site for the hospitality industry, providing industry leaders with the latest and most relevant global news, trends, products and services.
The World of Fine Wine Provides archive of World of Fine Wine industry news updates
Wine & Spirits Provides information on established and up-and-coming regions and producers, the art and science of viticulture, industry happenings and food and wine pairing
WiseNews Provides full-text newspaper clippings with search capabilities.
Other Sources

 

Conference Directories

Conference Alerts Provides information about upcoming events in tourism and related fields.
BVents Provides information on conferences, trade shows, conventions, corporate events and exhibitions worldwide. 

 

Associations and Professional Organizations - Hong Kong

Hong Kong Tourism Board Provides news on Hong Kong tourism and connecting you with trade partners around the world.
Discover Hong Kong Hong Kong's official tourism guide includes tourist information on attractions, events, shopping and dining, vacation holiday packages, street maps, virtual tours and travel planning itineraries to experience Hong Kong's unique international living culture.
Hong Kong Tourism Commission Mainly responsible for formulating and coordinating implementation of policies, strategies and plans for tourism development. 
Hong Kong Hotels Association (HKHA) Provides useful information and data on related industry matters and ensuring greater professionalism in the industry.
Hong Kong Exhibition & Convention Industry Association (HKECIA) Provide industry members with a unified voice in negotiations with the government and government-related organizations and for the general betterment of business interests of members.
Wine.gov.hk A portal on how HK as the duty-free hub brings wines to the region, to Mainland China.
Wine Association of Hong Kong Limited A non-profit making organization, intends to promote the wine appreciation culture by conducting wine competitions with constructive review & comment by experts and critics.

 

Learning Resources and Practical Guides

Hospitality
Hospitality Net An online resource for the Hospitality Industry. Featuring hospitality and hotel news, market reports, columns, staff movements, hotel brands, industry events, jobs, suppliers and industry links.
Hotelresource.com A leading online information and knowledge base for the hospitality & travel industries.
Hospitality Financial & Technology Professionals Provides a number of resources of the hospitality industry including consultants, research, webinars, trade shows and a number of publications.
Green Hotelier Home of news, resources, expert commentary and information regarding green hotels throughout the world.

Tourism and Travel
National Geographic - Travel & Cultures Provides facts, photos, information and history, travel videos, flags, and maps of countries and cities of the world.
Lonely Planet Travel Guide Provides travel tips and best holiday destinations.
The Virtual Tourist Provides travel tips, reviews and photos posted by real travelers.
World Tourism Directory An extensive travel and tourism directory in the world, offering the travel and tourism industry a trustworthy source of information. 

Event and Convention Management
Resources on Convention Management from PCMA Resources provided from Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA), one of the definitive authority in education, business networking and community engagement for leaders in the global meetings, convention and business events industry.
Sustainable Event Management - a practical Guide Provides information such as policy, issues, stakeholder procedures, legals, measurement calculators and more.

Wine
INTOWine Provides information for wine recommendations, food & wine pairing suggestions and more.
Decanter Provides wine reviews, find the best wines, read the latest wine news, learn about wine tasting and more.
Wine Enthusiast Provides acclaimed wine ratings and reviews, unique recipes ideas, pairing information, news coverage and helpful guides.
Wine Spectator Provides online wine courses: from the ABCs of Tasting to in-depth seminars on Food Pairing, California Cabernet, Bordeaux, Tuscany, Sensory Evaluation and more.

Associations and Professional Organizations - International

Hospitality
Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education (CHRIE) A non-profit professional association, provides programs and services to continually improve the quality of global education, research, service and business operations in the hospitality and tourism industry. 
Hospitality Sales & Marketing Association International (HSMAI) A global organization of sales, marketing, and revenue management professionals representing all segments of the hospitality industry.
International Hotel and Restaurant Association An international trade association exclusively devoted to promoting and defending the interests of the hotel and restaurant industry worldwide. 
Institute of Hospitality
(formerly HCIMA)
A professional body for individual managers and aspiring managers working and studying in the hospitality, leisure and tourism (HLT) industry. 

Tourism and Travel
International Federation of Information Technology and Tourism (IFITT) An independent global community for the discussion, exchange and development of knowledge about the use and impact of new information and communication technologies (ICT) in the travel and tourism industry and experience.
Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) A not-for profit association that is internationally acclaimed for acting as a catalyst for the responsible development of travel and tourism to, from and within the Asia Pacific region. 
Travel and Tourism Research Association A non-profit association, to enhance the quality, value, effectiveness and use of research in travel marketing, planning and development. 
World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) The United Nations agency responsible for the promotion of responsible, sustainable and universally accessible tourism.
World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) A global body that brings together all major players in the travel and tourism sector, enabling them to speak with one voice to governments and international bodies. 

Event and Convention Management
Association for Events Management Education (AEME) Aims at raising the profile of events education by providing information about, and links to, resources relating to education, best practice and research. 
Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA) An authority in education, business networking and community engagement for leaders in the global meetings, convention and business events industry.